What's new

My first impressions with the sp3 i7, i'm an illustrator.

romrod

Hey guys,
i'm a professional illustrator (you can see my work here and on my blog if you wish to do so) and bought the SP3 i7 because i was hoping to get a one device mobile workstation. Unfortunately as it looks right now the surface pro 3 isn't, because i have to hook up at least a graphic tablet to actually get work done on it.

Out of the box the drawing experience on the SP3 was abysmal. That didn't come as a suprise, i had described my drawing experience when testing the SP3 in a local store and users on the tabletpcreview forums pointed out, that driver updates were drastically improving the drawing experience. So i did all the updates and the drawing experience improved.
I installed Manga Studio and Photoshop CC (on my desktop pc i run Manga Studio 5 EX and Photoshop CS5 Ex) and had to do a re-install of Manga Studio because for some reason at first i had massive cursor lag in Manga Studio (and Manga Studio only). A reinstall fixed that mostly.
So making sure i had all software updated i decided to go through a few joblike scenarios. I sat down yesterday to solely use the SP3 to create a storyboard frame and a few landscape speedpaintings. It didn't work out well.

Creating a storyboard frame lineart drawing usually takes me about 40min. With the sp3 it took me close to 2,5h. This is mainly due to the inaccuracy of the pen. I had to zoom in to 200-300% in Manga Studio to be able to somewhat draw lines where i needed them. I still had to do each stroke multiple times but in the end i managed to get a drawing that was somewhat rougher than my usual stuff, but useable.
To match the lineart appearance to the lineart drawings that i usually do i had to adjust the brush pressure curve in Manga Studio for each brush that i wanted to use.