What's new

Need a new phone and wondering which is best -- other than Apple

Arizona Willie

I've been using an old flip phone on an inexpensive / free service from Kroger and someone has hacked it or something and made calls on my number.

I'm not happy with I-wireless anyway.

So I thought I might switch to Verizon and buy a new phone.

Looking for opinions on which is the best one now --- but will not even consider an I-anything. Nothing from Apple lands in my house.

All opinions / suggestions / jokes appreciated :)

Moonsurface

Super Moderator
Staff member
I have a google nexus (4) and love it. Closest thing to an apple experience from an android device as the hardware is controlled my google and the price sim only is fantastic for the spec. I saved so such money buying my nexus direct from google play and going sim only.

I guess others will perhaps recommend windows phones, but I have no experience with them.

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
OneNote Beta for Android now supports inking, so maybe look at one of the Galaxy Notes if you like inking....

BillJ

I am very happy with my Nokia Icon with Windows Phone 8.1. The basic functionality of the phone is slick and beautiful. I don't need a bunch of apps and games, and I can access all of my OneDrive data right on my phone.
I would submit that the secret to getting the right device is to understand first what you need the device to do; from there, you can choose among options that possess that functionality. As you read in these forums, people get very unhappy when a gadget does not live up to their expectations.

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
I use the Nokia Lumia 1520 that I love.... especially with Windows Phone 8.1 and the Cyan Update...

kundas1

I second the win 8 phones, I have the Lumina 625 and luv the simplicity and speed of the win 8 OS...

Moonsurface

Super Moderator
Staff member