New here - and have a Office 2013 issue.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by revelated, Feb 26, 2013.

1. revelated

revelated New Member

I work in IT so I'm not numb to it, but this is straight bizarre.

I have a 64GB Surface Pro that I bought to evaluate personally. In my world, I would not use a tablet to run VMs or do anything heavy; my laptop or my iMac would serve those functions just fine. But I wanted something I could install any basic app or video program on. I can always do a microSD card, the internal drive is well enough for programs if I relocate the backup package.

Anyway, I take advantage of Microsoft's Home Use Program which gets you Office Professional Plus 2013 installable on two devices for $10 - a steal. I installed it just fine, or at least thought so, but none of the apps except Lync will actually run. OneNote, Excel, Word...none of them run. Yet, on my laptop running 8 Pro, the same Professional Plus works perfectly fine.

Now, I'm thinking something got botched somewhere, because I can't do the repair nor the uninstaller. It just sits at Step 2 endlessly and never does anything.

The stub installer that's on the machine when you first load it up where you can try 365 or enter a key - I did that first, it didn't seem to do anything. So then I downloaded the actual installer and ran that to install it. Methinks somewhere in there something got jacked up.

Any ideas? My next step is to try and restore to before I did the install and run it through.

2. J515OP

J515OP Super Moderator

My Device:
    RT
    Restore is a good option. You might also want to contact MS customer support.

3. Chung

Chung New Member

So, when you went to digital river to grab your d/l, you may notice that it's a web installer. if you run the installer on an older computer, it will stream and install office 2013... I found out this the hard way because I tried to stop the damn thing but it kept going.