What's new

New to surface, from UK - Pro 3 on preorder

Moonsurface

Super Moderator
Staff member
Hello all,

I'm a newbie to surface, but my step daughter has a Surface 2 which she seems very happy with for her college use. I've played briefly with a pro 2 in a store recently and was very impressed with the device in terms of build quality and screen.

I've read and watched and watched and read just about everything I can about the new pro 3 as I am currently the owner of an aging Dell Studio laptop, a reasonably powerful homebuilt Desktop PC and a nexus 7 tablet. The laptop is very rarely used because it used to be used as a desktop where it's size and constantly running loud fan and poor battery life wasn't so much of a problem, now when I want to use it I need portability and the size/fan noise puts me off. I'm a fan of my Nexus 7 (excellent device) but it can't do what I need to do for productivity.

I'm a photographer and I love the idea of being able to run photoshop (hopefully the new touch interface) and lightroom on a Surface pro 3, taking it away on photoshoot weekends and sitting in the bar of the hotel photo editing without all the hassle of my current rather embarrasing lump of a laptop and with the pen interface for using brushes in both LR and PS it's almost a no-brainer. I barely even looked at ultrabooks because the surface piqued my interest from the very beginning.

I preordered the i7 256 variant a few days ago and I can't wait to get my hands on it!

So that's me, I'm looking forward to taking a look around this forum and finding out what people say about their surface tablets.

malberttoo

Welcome to the forum! I've said it before- I liked my Surface Pro, but I love my SP3!

I think the highest endorsement that I can give my SP3, is that it has become my full-time portable computer. The 12" ThinkPad that it replaced, hasn't been turned on in at least 10 days. :cool:

malberttoo