New User - TPM Setup

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by glr, Aug 12, 2014.

  1. glr

    glr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ran across the following and am wondering what I need to do, if anything, to optimize data security.

    The status, for example, is "the TPM is ready for use, with reduce functionality". Since I have had the SP3-i7 for only a week or so, I have not established a password nor do I know the default if any.

    Any insights are appreciated.

    upload_2014-8-12_6-29-31.png
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Capture.JPG Are you logged using a Live account?
     
  3. glr

    glr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Frank - I am not sure...how do I determine?
     
  4. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    When you turn on your Surface, do you provide a username and password from an account preciously created in live.com?
     
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
  6. glr

    glr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    yes
     
  7. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Also, if for compare your screen shot against mine, looks like you have not "prepared the TPM".
     
  8. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
  9. glr

    glr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Frank - what would we do without you. Thanks for taking the time to assist.

    Obviously, I do not want to bugger this up from the get go. As I am unaware of a password, unless it defaults to Live password, should I start by Clearing the TPM. I ask as I do not want to loose access to my data.

    upload_2014-8-12_8-51-39.png
     
  10. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Move any file that you think you may lose to a SD and use the option to Clear TPM.
     
  11. glr

    glr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Will do...now I wish the tech at the MS store had helped turn this feature on before I started transferring data from my previous laptop.
     
  12. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'm curious, is your disk drive encrypted?

    If you open Disk Management and look at the C drive does it say Bitlocker Encrypted.
    disk mgmt.PNG
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

clear tpm surface pro 3

,

surface pro 3 clear tpm

,
surface pro 3 tpm reduced functionality
,

the tpm is ready for use with reduced functionality

,

the tpm is ready with reduced functionality

,

tpm is ready for use reduced functionality

,
tpm is ready for use with reduced functionality
,
tpm is ready with reduced functionality
,

tpm ready for use with reduced functionality

,
tpm reduced functionality