News360 - Excellent News Reader

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Apps' started by mitchellvii, May 6, 2013.

  1. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Check it out in the Store.

    Free
    Fast
    Good Looking
    Integrates Very Smoothly With IE 10

    My favorite Windows 8 Newsreader by far.
     
  2. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes news 360 is nice but I prefer news bento
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. andrew

    andrew New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    My Device:
    RT
    I also prefer Bento - it is much smoother than News360 (most notable on the Surface RT). Although, both of them tend to hang/freeze while loading the HTML from the original web page.

    Personally, I think Discourse is the best of all of the readers. It has a really novel UI (try it!). It had been included in the Build release of Win8 but then disappeared in subsequent releases... only to return as a paid app with the RTM release. The updated (paid) version is really phenomenal.

    -andrew
     
  4. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yes, News Bento is nice. I always find it annoying though when 95% of the default "News" streams they subscribe to are the most left-leaning batwing rags in America. I mean MSNBC and Huntington Post? Please. If I want "news" I don't read those.

    Nevertheless the interface is quite nice.

    Question: When I want to add my own streams, how to I categorize them? Seems like they just have "News", "Tech" and "Others" on the homepage. Don't see where I can organize things.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  5. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right click on the Title....
     
  6. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ok, I get how you move things around. But how do I add additional Folder Headings to my homescreen? It only has News and Tech.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  7. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you do it like win 8 start screen. long hold a tile and move it until you make it -its own column than rt click to rename it.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Oh gotcha, thanks. I have to keep reminding myself that Modern UI is "intuitive" because that never would have occurred to me, lol.

    How do I move entire sections, in other words, how do arrange my headings?
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  9. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just rt click each tile in the column you want to move until they all have checks next to them than move the whole bunch of them......
     
  10. ChiTom

    ChiTom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Free - check
    Good looking - check
    Can enter the RSS feeds I want to follow = keep getting message "not found" (e.g., Nikon Rumors, Fuji Rumors, Photography Life, etc.)

    What good is good user interface if you can't get the feeds you want?
     
  11. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you talking about news Bento or news 360. Bento you can add your Google reader feeds.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. Sin

    Sin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    My Device:
    RT
    Has Discourse been improved. I bought when it first came out and quickly determined that it was terrible. I found it painful to read though a large feed. No easy way to switch from one article to the next. It also didn't update Google Reader, which description implied, but all it did was import your Google Reader feeds. Not update your read status or stared articles. I keep going back to NextGen Reader, which I use on my phone and on my Surface. Both keep Google Reader updated so I can switch back an forth between devices and not re-read articles that I have already read. Might have to give Discourse another try.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
bento
,
embalagem+para+refeicoes delivery
,
ie10 freeze while loading
,
lacquerware japanese lunch box
,
news 360 hangs on ms surface
,
news bento discourse news360
,
news360 add your own rss
,

ø¨ù†øªùˆ ø§ù„ùŠø§ø¨ø§ù†

,
what is a excellent news reader