no network found...

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Kamran Samaie, Aug 2, 2014.

  1. Kamran Samaie

    Kamran Samaie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I got my surface on Monday and ever since I was very satisfied. I had the slow WiFi bug, also twice I had to restart my surface because it didn't have a network connection after sleep mode. I updated the drivers and if necessary I restarted and everything was fine. But now I have a problem I could not find a solution for anywhere...

    I went away for the weekend and in the new location I can't find the existing network... On all other devices (among them one Window 8 laptop and one HTC running Windows 8.1) it is visible and it is possible to connect. With the surface on the other hand I can't find the network... I even tried to set up the connection manually, but it didn't work. I have all drivers up to date and installed all available Windows updates. I disabled the drivers and enabled them again, of course I did several restarts but nothing helped.

    Did anyone experience the same problem? And if so, did you find a solution?

    I was thinking to downgrade the network drivers, but I couldn't find them and therefore I'm hesitating to uninstall the current one...

    Every idea and tip is appreciated
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    In Device manager bring up the network adapter go to the driver tab and click roll back driver.

    Another option might be to delete the adapter and let it reinstall.
     
    leeshor likes this.
  3. Kamran Samaie

    Kamran Samaie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Roll back driver doesn't work

    When you say delete the adapter, you mean to uninstall it in the device manager? If so, how do I reinstall the adapter afterwards?
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Tap the adapter in device manager than tap delete and answer yes. On a restart it should re detect it, or you could just refresh the list from the menu and ask it to find missing devices.
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  5. Kamran Samaie

    Kamran Samaie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok done that but still no changes... any other ideas?
     
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ID try rebooting the router next if that's an option.
     
  7. Bandito

    Bandito Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'd recommend calling Microsoft Surface Support. They may or may not be able to correct the problem, but it will make them aware that there is a problem.

    One last thing, is there another WiFi network that you can try? This would at least confirm that your SP3 WiFi adapter didn't just suddenly quit working.

    Good luck!
     
  8. Seneleron

    Seneleron Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    incompatible devices?

    It's rare, but it DOES happen from time to time.
     
  9. ZorMi

    ZorMi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I heard about the problems with USA devices when a hot-spot is using channels 12-13... if you can access the router setup and see.
     
  10. Kamran Samaie

    Kamran Samaie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I restarted the router and it didn't help.
    I created a hotspot using my phone and then I can connect without any problems, so the adapter should be fine.
    Haven't called the support yet, guess I will do that or rather send them a message.

    I will see if I can get access to the router setup and see about the channels.

    Thanks for the suggestions, if I make any progress I will post it here
     
  11. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You may want to do a total reset on the router to defaults. Make certain things are working then set it up again. What type of security are you using?
     
  12. camis1

    camis1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Kinnelon, NJ
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Experienced the same issue two days ago. Spent over an hour with MS Support. Rep was poking and hoping. I finally gave up. Took the logical approach. Deleted the driver, reinstalled the July 16th firmware update and all has been fine.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface no networks found
,
no networks found surface pro 3
,
surface no network found
,
surface no networks found
,

surface pro 3 no networks found

,
surface pro 3 no wifi networks found
,
surface pro 3 no wireless networks found
,
surface pro 3 wifi no networks found
,
surface pro 3 wireless no networks found
,
surface pro no networks found