Norton Identity Safe

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by absresin, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. absresin

    absresin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Illinois
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My Surface 3 coming Friday. Would like to use my Norton Identity Safe with it. Is this possible?
     
  2. ipaq_101

    ipaq_101 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Why wouldn't it be? It's not hardware related, it's software.
     
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I guess the question is will it work with MUI IE or other apps locked in their silo. Anything desktop related should work although there may be issues with scaling and touchability.
     
  4. absresin

    absresin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Illinois
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Not sure whether SP3 is Android or like a regular computer. Just wondered before installing. Thanks
     
  5. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I haven't heard of Identity Safe, but if it's Windows 7 compatible, it should run on your new SP3. Welcome to this forum.
     
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Identity Safe is a Password Manager bundled with a lot of Symantec Antivirus/security product line. I really haven't used it though and there may be some other functionality in it like blocking CC numbers and stuff.

    I'm just not sure how it will react to non-desktop apps.
    I see complaints about NOT working with IE 11 and enhanced protected mode.
    The System Requirements doc dated 10/31/2014 lists Windows 8 but not Windows 8.1

    To the OP: If you have support ID ask them directly if they support Win 8.1.
     
  7. wookiee2cu

    wookiee2cu Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The SP3 is a full on computer, if the software states it's compatible with Windows 8 then you are good to go.
     
  8. Grumpy2

    Grumpy2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere Down Under
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I recently (late last week) spoke with a Symantec Customer Support person (he was in Chenei in India) and he advised me that Norton Utilities and Norton 360 are not compatible with the Surface Pro 3. Asked him about Norton Anti-Virus and he was not sure. He told me to be safe and not install any Norton Product on my Sp3 as he thinks they are not compatible and wil cause problems. He seemed to be a very friendly and knowledgeable person and I have taken his advice. Also I went off of Norton products a long while ago anyway. I would suggest avoid Norton like the plaque on the Sp3.
     
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That is exactly the response you will get from someone who doesn't know what you are talking about and he certainly doesn't. He's clueless.
     
  10. jpfive

    jpfive New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Norton 360 is working fine on my SP3, including Identity Safe. Better, in fact than Kaspersky, which I installed first due to another post like yours. Please do not post as fact your opinion of a product that you do not prefer.
     
  11. absresin

    absresin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Illinois
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Got my SP3 today installed Identity Safe and Norton 360, both seem to be working fine. Thanks to all who took the time to answer.
     
    leeshor likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

does microsoft edge work with norton

,

does norton work with microsoft edge

,

how well does norton work on surface pro 3

,

identitysafe not working with surface pro

,

microsoft edge not working with norton

,

norton identity safe client on windows

,

norton identity safe not working on surface pro

,

norton surface pro 3

,

surface pro 4 and norton 360

,

will my norton work on microsoft edge