Not sure I have Performance Base?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Book' started by MickeyLittle, Nov 24, 2016.

  1. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hey guys I just got home from BB with my new Surface Book and they had the same deal that I see advertised on Amazon but I see the Amazon site calls it the updated model and now I really don't see that advertised from BB. I don't even want to open this box if it isn't the newer model so how can I tell just looking at the outside packaging?

    I checked the model number on Amazon and it is slightly different.
     
  2. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,082
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    @MickeyLittle

    I can't remember the look of the box for my Surface Book with Performance Base, but I believe it was indeed clearly marked. I wouldn't open that box. Worth going back or waiting for.
     
  3. flar

    flar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I was at BB yesterday and asked if they had the Performance Base models on sale and they checked and the prices were retail. They had great deals on the older models from last year. I'd suspect that you ended up with an older model.

    What deal did you get and for which model?
     
  4. lovedingbao

    lovedingbao New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    [​IMG]
    You can see the difference between the description of the GPU. hope it would help you and not too late
     
    sharpuser likes this.
  5. hogwldfltr

    hogwldfltr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newbury, MA
    As shown the new models specifies 2 gig.
     
    sharpuser likes this.
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,450
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Anyone know what Go RAM is? i.e 8GB/Go RAM
    I assume it's a distinction of the size since they also use that nomenclature on the storage 256GB/Go.

    Lawyers are ruining everything.
     
  7. flar

    flar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    It's multi-lingual. The French call them octets instead of bytes.
     
  8. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I ended up returning it to BB and getting the 1 from Amazon as they are different. Amazon has the i5 8gig Ram 128 SSD with Windows 10 Anniversary Edition and BB did not have the updated edition. The part number changed from like CR9-00001 to CR9-00013.

    My new question is do I really have the performance base or not. I ask because I want to order the correct UAG case and this seems to be iffy...
    https://www.amazon.com/Surface-Feat...coding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=EFF0MRYADP38HP3MJYQW
     
    vincentallen2 likes this.
  9. moe.t

    moe.t New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Performance bases are all i7s, I believe.

    So if it's an i5 it wouldn't be the performance base.
     
  10. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ok thank you very much. I may give it a shot.
     
  11. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    176
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    In fact, Microsoft can't decide if they want to call the new model the Surface Book i7 or Surface Book with Performance Base.
     
  12. Lobo

    Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Oh my. I know the French are on the obsessive side when it comes to their language but why bother messing with international units of measure? :rolleyes:

    If every language on earth insisted on that, they'd have to deliver that Surface Book in a 40 ft freight container to fit all the memory descriptions. :p
     

Share This Page