Solved Num Lock

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by smithlee2013, Mar 1, 2013.

  1. smithlee2013

    smithlee2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a way to use the num lock function on the surface pro? either on the on screen keyboard or the touch cover
     
  2. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
  3. smithlee2013

    smithlee2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesnt mention anything about Num Lock lol
     
  4. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Well there is no "number lock" because it isn't a traditional keyboard. By choosing &123 in the lower left corner you are essentially number locking by bringing up the number pad and getting rid of the letters. If that isn't quite what you are looking for you can use the split keyboard which gives you all the numbers and the letters. Not sure what other layout you could be asking for.
     
  5. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    It explains the 'thumbs' keyboard with the keypad in the middle.
     
  6. Sin

    Sin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    My Device:
    RT
    Even with the split on-screen keyboard, if you tap the '&123' key in the lower left corner, you will get a number pad on the right side of the keyboard until you toggle back by hitting the '&123' key again. Works very well. The number pad in the center of the split on-screen keyboard isn't terrible useful when holding the Surface in your hands, but quickly toggling to numbers keyboard works well.
     
  7. Wykkyd

    Wykkyd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, there is. And I registered for this forum JUST to provide the answer that even Microsoft's TECH SUPPORT couldn't provide me.

    Win+R
    type: OSK
    click: OK

    click: Options
    check: Turn On Numeric Keypad

    click: NumLock

    And now after hours of fighting through unnecessary bull**** I can use my Razer Naga in numpad mode without hassle.


    EDIT: Why does everyone, including tech support, think that asking for NUMLOCK means you don't know how to type numbers... come on, people.
     
    ahighfield, BradF, mwsvette and 3 others like this.
  8. Seneleron

    Seneleron Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I just wanted to bump this because, several months later, here is someone else [me] looking for the exact same answer [activate num lock] for the exact same reason [razer naga keybinds]
     
  9. Tiane

    Tiane New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    can you explain how to do this with greater detail what is win+R where do i type that ... please help daughter needs to use for spanish homework
     
  10. Metalman

    Metalman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hold down the windows key (the one with the window on it) then hit the R key.
    When the box opens up type the commands.
     
  11. Tiane

    Tiane New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried the number lock like you said... but there was no option for special characters for other languages.. thanks for your help
     
  12. Metalman

    Metalman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have not tried it but you might be able to use the character map to input in the run box.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface number lock
,
num lock on surface
,
num lock on surface pro 3
,

num lock surface pro

,

surface num lock

,
surface number lock
,

surface numlock

,
surface pro 3 numlock
,

surface pro num lock

,

surface pro numlock