On Screen Keyboard Issue

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Earthdog, Jul 31, 2014.

  1. Earthdog

    Earthdog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So I am a little confused if this is a feature or bug.

    First off I am new to the Surface. Sometimes when using the screen as a tablet (keyboard disconnected) and I go into a text input mode I get the onscreen keyboard other times no. I'm just confused in Android and IOS when ever you go into an input field the on screen keyboard opens or using a pen and selecting the text tool the on screen keyboard comes on. Am I missing a setting or something to make this consistent?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Is it any specific app that is more of a problem than others.
     
  3. Earthdog

    Earthdog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    IE, Outlook 2013 and One Note 2013 are my most used but I am rarely using just the tablet to nail it down.
     
  4. Mulligan

    Mulligan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    For the most part... The keyboard pops up as expected when you are using a metro app but must be manually opened from desktop apps.
     
    leeshor likes this.
  5. Earthdog

    Earthdog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    A rhetorical question... So MS why have a Tablet Mode device thats not smart enough to know how behave? Its not like IE 11 or Office 365 predate the PEN... Thats past frustrating it's dumb and unproductive. IMHO :)
     
  6. Katmandoo122

    Katmandoo122 Guest

    Searched for this answer but couldn't find it. With my Type Cover attached and in desktop mode (usually in Chrome, I think), if I click in a text field in a webpage, the onscreen keyboard pops up. This is odd since I have the keyboard attached.

    If there a good way to keep this from happening? I hardly need the on screen keyboard if a physical keyboard is attached.

    Separately, I must say that the MS onscreen keyboard that sucked on my RT is awesomesauce on my SP3 because of the more flexible kickstand. With the KS deployed most of the way and using the SP3 in tablet mode, the onscreen is darn near as good as a physical keyboard.

    Now if I could just keep the two from interfering with one another!
     
  7. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    This is my reply from a different post where this same issue came up...

    "As far as the keyboard not appearing... I'm no expert but here is the short story as I understand it. Desktop apps are different than their Metro counterparts. So Desktop Skype, is not the same as Metro Skype. As I understand it, the Metro apps all use the current APIs, but in order for Desktop apps to automatically summon the on-screen keyboard for instance, Microsoft would have had to back-port the API's to work with the Desktop app environment, and they didn't want to. So... Desktop apps don't have the ability to summon the keyboard.

    I do understand Microsoft's basic goal, of getting everything switched over to Metro-style apps, as the Desktop style all rely on the same basic code that has been in existence since Windows XP, and Microsoft can't be chained to that forever. I just have no idea how they will ultimately pull it off."

    So yeah it kind of blows, and threw me for a loop at first also. But if you're working in the Desktop at all, then get used to hitting your little keyboard button to bring the keyboard up.
     
  8. Katmandoo122

    Katmandoo122 Guest

    That makes sense but unfortunately, it's not about getting the keyboard to show up that bugs me. It's having it show up when I don't want it... it pops up in Chrome (and elsewhere) even with the Type Cover attached.
     
  9. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I could not have said it better. I hope that MS makes the OSK more consistent even in Desktop Mode.
     
  10. ipaq_101

    ipaq_101 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
  11. kozak79

    kozak79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I also wish they had autocorrect and autofill in desktop mode. After having an ipad for a few years, you realize how much you rely on those features on a tablet.
     
  12. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Not sure what to tell you about that. I use Chrome all the time in the Desktop, and have never had the on-screen keyboard appear.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
on screen keyboard surface issue
,

surface on screen keyboard issue

,
surface on screen keyboard not showing up desktop apps
,
surface pro 3 on screen keyboard buggy
,

surface pro 3 on screen keyboard issue

,

surface pro 3 on screen keyboard issues

,
surface pro 3 screen keyboard bug
,
surface pro on screen keyboard issue
,
why is accessability keyboard not appearing when surface pro 3 type cover is not attached
,
windows 10 surface screen keyboard bug