What's new

One Note and Dropbox Questions

tonypitt

I'm eagerly awaiting my SP3 i7. It will be my first Surface device. I'm starting now to make a list of all the software I need to install on this machine since I can't yet do anything else. :) I've never used One Note before, although I gather it is a major part of the "Surface lifestyle."

Through my employer I have the ability to install the full MS Office 2013. I'll be doing that on this device. As I gather that a version of One Note is already on the device, I'm not sure what that means for me. Is the SP3 version the "full" version?

I'm also contemplating a change in how I handle my work files. Right now I carry a 256 GB USB stick around with me. It is about half full. That stick gets differentially 'backed up' to Dropbox daily. I've always treated Dropbox more as a backup spot rather than as a working file location. I'm considering changing that now and having my SP3, my work PC, and my home PC all just work from Dropbox. The downside is that when I'm working on a PC that is not one of those 3, I'd have to login to Dropbox and download the needed file(s). That seems less convenient than just popping in a USB stick.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks.

sharpuser

Administrator
Staff member
Hi, tonypitt,

Congrats on your forthcoming SP3 i7.

You will indeed have OneNote full version on your SP3.
I am also a DropBox user, but now use OneDrive for my file sharing. You will still have to login to OneDrive (actually, you login to your Microsoft account), but you will not have to 'download' the files, since Windows 8.1 is happy to access from a remote location, as a build-in to the OS.

Here's a good article for comparison of various cloud services.

OP
T

tonypitt

Hi sharpcolorado,