OneDrive connection problem

Discussion in 'Windows 10 on Surface Pro 3' started by Tsurugaya, Aug 8, 2015.

  1. Tsurugaya

    Tsurugaya Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have done the "Map Network Drive" to OneDrive and it seem to work, but how do I get it to sign in automatically when I but my SP3? Batch files are a thing of the past, no?
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You mean if you reboot your drive mapping is gone?

    How did you map the drive?

    If you used the Map Network Drive button in Explorer it should be persistent and by default Reconnect at Sign-in is checked.
     
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    BTW "How to" tags are meant for instructions not questions... although you can put How to in the headline to make it a question... a subtle difference I know but thems is the standards. :)
     
  4. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I mapped Onedrive the way someone posted instructions on and then from a posted video but it requires me to log in every time I reboot. I get an error every time I boot telling me it can't connect to all network drives. It wont connect until I double click on the drive and put in my credentials or hit ok if it remembers them.
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ok to double check from those instructions:
    "Also, make sure you have the 2 boxes checked and you will be prompted to enter you Microsoft Account Info, when prompted make sure you Check the box to remember you credentials"​

    So if you DID check the box to remember your credentials then it might be an underperforming or suboptimal feature. :)
     
  6. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I did check both boxes, not sure what "underperforming or suboptimal feature" means. Is there a way around it? Tried it on 3 different systems.
     
  7. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Underperforming - perform less well than expected.
    Suboptimal - of less than the highest standard or quality.

    Is there a way around it - not as far as I know.
     
    Kris likes this.
  8. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    lol ok so the literal definitions. Thanks
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Some might call that a bug but I don't want to be overly presumptuous. :)
     
    Kris likes this.
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    It is happening to everyone that I know who are using this workaround... we're using old school SMB Networking Mapping and it looks like it attempting to authenticate prior to an active internet connection....
     
  11. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Well that sucks, not only did they take place holders or whatever away from us now they are making this unavailable. Was really hoping for this work around, 64GB is not a lot to work with. Especially when you have 1TB of Onedrive space.
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    It will still work.... you just need to hit ok when the credentials screen appears .....
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

one drive connection

,

one drive connection problems

,

onedrive connection problem

,
onedrive connectivity
,
onedrive network drive problem
,
onedrive online connection problem
,
problem connecting to one drive
,
problem in connecting onedrive
,
surface 2 onedrive problems
,

this device has been removed from onedrive