What's new

Opinions (Based on Experience) Sought

I have waited for the Surface, I considered the iPad, but decided to wait for the Surface. I'm a pastor, and I use my device for about four things:
1) I use it for word processing,
2) I use it for Bible Study,
3) I use it for keeping my schedule,
4) I use it to surf the internet and handle my email.

Ok, the fourth thing included two, so maybe that's five.

I had an iPad 1 which a church member loaned me for several months. I didn't use it for word processing, but I did use it for:
5) Sermon presentation (I loaded my sermons on it in a reader and could sit it on my pulpit and flip pages back and forth as required).

I waited for the Surface because I was hoping it would meet all of my needs and allow me to have one device for all of the above purposes.

I understand that the Surface doesn't have the screen resolution of the current iPads; is it as good as or better than the iPad 1, which was sufficient for my uses?

I understand I wouldn't be using my current Bible Study Program (Logos), but they had a pretty good App for iPad/Android, do they have one for Surface? If not, I'm sure there are others.

I'm thinking of a Surface RT with a type cover. Any opinions would be appreciated.

Griff

I got my Surface for many of the same reasons. I'm very surprised at how much I love it. I used to have a laptop and an ipad. I never really used the ipad since I would just use my laptop for web browsing, Netflix, etc. Since I got my Surface, I've been able to sell my laptop and ipad and just rely on my Surface. After a month of heavy use, I haven't regretted my decision at all.

My opinions are, of course, subjective, but: