Picture quality of Wireless Display Adapter

Discussion in 'Surface - Peripherals' started by elliexplorer, Dec 29, 2016.

  1. elliexplorer

    elliexplorer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I am finally getting a monitor for my SP3 and trying to figure out if I can get away with connecting via a WDA. I will be using Photoshop/Lightroom and will have a nice monitor so I want to maximize the resolution. Is there any difference in a wired and a wireless connection? Thanks!
     
  2. No_ax_to_grind

    No_ax_to_grind Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Depends upon your monitor. You'll get 1920x1080 HD fine, but whether you get a 30Hz or 60Hz refresh rate will depend upon the monitor.
     
  3. elliexplorer

    elliexplorer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Will have a 3840 x 2160 60 hz monitor. Have a Intel HD Graphics 5000 card.
     
  4. No_ax_to_grind

    No_ax_to_grind Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Anything above FHD on a WiDi you'll drop to 30Hz.
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    SPro
    And the WDA is limited to 1080p and can't drive a 4K Monitor....at 4K resolution (so limited to 1080p which may look grainy)
     
  6. elliexplorer

    elliexplorer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Okay was afraid of that. Thanks for your response!
     
  7. elliexplorer

    elliexplorer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Exactly what I needed to know! Not getting a nice monitor to look grainy. Thanks for your response!
     
  8. No_ax_to_grind

    No_ax_to_grind Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Correct. Full resolution and refresh rate on a UHD, 4K monitor would require a DisplayPort 1.2 or HDMI 2.0 wired connection.
     

Share This Page