[Poll} Have you upgraded any non Surface systems?

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Forum' started by leeshor, Jun 18, 2015.

?

Have you upgraded "other" systems?

  1. Yes and it went fine

    10 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. No

    3 vote(s)
    20.0%
  3. Yes but there were problems (explain)

    3 vote(s)
    20.0%
  4. I plan on it, prior to July 29th

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. I'm going to wait

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I have upgraded 5 systems from Windows 7 Pro to Windows 10. It was interesting and for the most part, with one glaring exception, went very smoothly. The one exception was a Lenovo laptop that refuses to upgrade. The 5 systems that did upgrade were all production desktops, some over 3 years old.

    Have you upgraded any other systems and what was your experience
     
  2. lparsons21

    lparsons21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I've attempted to put W10 on my HP Beats AIO a few times and it will never complete the install. Generally faults out during the final phase of the install. That is as an upgrade to the existing W8.1.
    I did set the HP to dual-boot and installed a virgin W10 and that went well. Only had to get the sound drivers from HP to finish it out.

    You mentioned a Lenovo laptop that wouldn't upgrade. I have a Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro and doing an upgrade on it went smooth as silk.
     
  3. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    The laptop, a T520, would get to various spots and finally error out with a blue screen asking to do an F5 or F8, the F8 being a repair that would never work. I had to restore an image using Macrium Reflect and I'm not even going to say how man times I had to do that. Tried the install live, from USB and from DVD.Trashed it every time.
     
  4. lparsons21

    lparsons21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Sounds exactly like the HP upgrade I tried to do! :( I figger it is probably some driver or software that HP has in the mix that W10 didn't like. But never got an error that would give even a smidgen of a clue as to what was causing it.
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I've upgraded my Dell Venue 8 Pro and in many ways it is more stable than my SP3 running Windows 10, much of the SP3 issue is Power Management related though and a fix is coming soon.
     
  6. Spider

    Spider Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I upgraded W7 Pro on my desktop several months ago. No problems upgrading and everything appeared to work fine except VM VirtualBox.
     
  7. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,700
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I upgraded an old vista era laptop but it was a no go because of graphics drivers.

    Other than that, I would love to put it on my main computer but it has no internet access and I won't be able to get back to it with an ISO on a flash drive until September.
     
  8. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    Leeshor --

    I have upgraded two desktop systems, both from Win8.1. Both were done with no issues. The first was a spare machine that I use for tinkering with new stuff, but don't really use much. I became so comfortable with Win10 on it that I decided to upgrade my shop machine once I was assured that the upgrade to RTM would be "in place," without any need for re-install.

    This is a machine that I use every day with a variety of programs. I have had no program problems, or any other. I plan to upgrade another machine soon.

    Take care,
    Russ
     
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    @Russ 2 of the systems I upgraded were (2 of 3 of my) Windows 7 Pro production systems and neither had any issues. That was after I did fast ring upgaded on a bench system for nearly 2 months. I was pretty confident it would work. I think that Lenovo laptop never will upgrade.
     

Share This Page