portable monitor for SP3 in a Virtual Environment

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by MarkM, Oct 27, 2016.

  1. MarkM

    MarkM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I am looking for a portable monitor for my SP3. I currently have a Lenovo LT1421 (I think) It is a cabled portable monitor that I have used on a laptop.

    It works fine when I am using the SP3 with applications on the machine, but as soon as I enter a virtual office environment all the VO apps don't work and the second screen goes blank.

    I also have an HP EliteDisplay S140U that I can use as well, but it just doesn't seem to want to cooperate at all under any circumstances.

    Any driver suggestions?
    Other suggestions?
     
  2. BubbaUK

    BubbaUK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Possibly not what you are looking for, but do you have an iPad? You can attach it to your SP3 via lightning cable, run the Duet app on the Surface & iPad and your iPad becomes a second screen. Duet costs about $15 IIRC. It's very handy as a portable solution. Not sure what will happen with your VO apps though.
     
    MarkM likes this.
  3. MarkM

    MarkM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thank for the info. I do have an ipad and did try the duet solution. Worked fine until I started the VO apps. Potentially it is because the VO apps use a Citrix receiver?
     
  4. BubbaUK

    BubbaUK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks for the info about your VO apps, worth remembering.

    It may be that the VO server can be configured to use multiple screens? IIRC, Citrix generates the graphics on the server & it's graphics card, and just pipes them down to your display (as opposed to say a client/server web solution where the graphics are generated on the client).
     
  5. MarkM

    MarkM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    In a Windows 7 and Windows 8 environment, both desktop and laptop, I do use the VO apps across multiple screens, some of the apps are designed for multiple screens.
     
  6. BubbaUK

    BubbaUK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hmm, that's odd then. Are you running Windows 10 on the Spro3? I noticed that Remote Desktop behaves differently on Win 10 that it does Win7/8.1, so there may be something going on.
     
  7. MarkM

    MarkM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I run Windows 10 in the Spro3. I do have a remote desktop software that runs on 7/8 and 10 with the same behaviour
     

Share This Page