Possible bug-Anniv update SP4 and CPU

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Compusmurf, Aug 3, 2016.

  1. Compusmurf

    Compusmurf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    My Device:
    SPro4
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  3. Hingle McKringleberry

    Hingle McKringleberry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Looks to be a global issue after the upgrade. Clean installs may not be affected.
     
    Votality likes this.
  4. Compusmurf

    Compusmurf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I am on insider, .5 was fine, .10 not. Ms is aware of it now.
     
  5. Philtastic

    Philtastic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Not an issue on both my SP4 and my desktop. My desktop is an upgraded Win10 (ie. not a clean install).
     
  6. Gtfeckner

    Gtfeckner New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I´ve checked, and it´s true. My SP4 now is always stuck at 1.5 GHz on battery no matter what I do (it used to go down to 0.9 GHz when used for light stuff).

    After some charge / dicharge cycles (I´ve been using my Surface heavily since the update) I have noticed a reduction in battery life. My battery information program also showed a constant and steep slope in battery drainage. Before the update, the graph showed different slopes, meaning different power consumptions, something coherent with the CPU throttling back depending of computing power needs.

    I hope MS fixes this soon...
     
  7. Teclini

    Teclini New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I have this issue. SP4 I7 :-(
     
  8. nnthemperor

    nnthemperor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The AU really messed up by very stable SB. Notifications cause the task bar to freeze and eventually the whole system to crash, being a hard reboot. Was using it in a presentation today and it froze.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  9. Hingle McKringleberry

    Hingle McKringleberry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I did a fresh install with a thumb drive and Win 10 1607 Enterprise and the stuck CPU is fixed.
     
  10. Compusmurf

    Compusmurf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Wiping and redoing works for some, but is not the answet we need. Many folks now noticing.
     
  11. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Hmmmm....my i7 GHz is moving around as expected...maxing out around 2.21 GHz and keeping mainly around 1.1-1.5 GHz, has gone as low as 800 MHz...

    This machine has been flighted on all builds including .10
     
  12. Compusmurf

    Compusmurf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Consider yourself lucky. U have cpuz or task mgr, performance tab. Those of us with the known issue it will stay maxed within a few Mhz either way.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

windows 10 anniversary update surface pro 4 cpu max speed