Post Your SP3 WiFi/Internet Issues Here

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by leeshor, Aug 10, 2014.

  1. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,894
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The Web is getting rife with adware and badly coded pages. Install Tracking Protection Lists which will cut down on the crap loaded on sites. I use Easy List, Easy Privacy, and Stop Google Tracking.

    Note some embedded Youtube videos will not play with the later but will if you use the link to go to Youtube directly.
     
  2. Eagle923

    Eagle923 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    GreyFox, thanks for the reply. I checked and the Easy List is already active. The problem is that a number of web pages just never load (like CNN.com, FB, ESPN, DroidForums.net) and they worked well up until a week ago or so. Other pages are hit-or-miss (it took me 45 min of trying to load the registration page for this site, but now it is loading fine).
     
  3. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I don't know what happened recently with updates or what, but now I'm having trouble connecting to WiFi now and sometimes I have to reboot my SP3 to get connection back! Or sometimes I connect but then I look in my WiFi connections and its showing me no connections yet I'm able to surf and now I'm also loosing connection all the time now...... very frustrating!
     
  4. Gerke

    Gerke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Did you ever cleared the browsercache?
    Did you try both MUI and Desktopversion of IE?
    Are company policies used?
    Did you check your DNS settings (do they use Opendns with filtering eg?)

    A lot of questions......
     
  5. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,892
    Likes Received:
    1,194
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Eastern USA & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    @kundas1

    Sounds like you need to check your IPv4 settings of the wireless adapter. Make sure they are set to dynamic (unless you must explicity set these). My adapter settings changed to static after installing a Cisco VPN client, resulting in symptoms you describe.
     
  6. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I never did any changes to my internet settings nor have I joined any company policies and have never had any problems till recently... even connecting to my phone is problematic when it was never EVER problematic before...

    @sharp my ip4 settings are what they should be...
     
  7. Gerke

    Gerke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro3
    What does eventviewer tell you?

    And these symptoms can be caused by faulty antivirus sollutions which use proxies etc
     
  8. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,892
    Likes Received:
    1,194
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Eastern USA & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    @kundas1 ,

    This happens away from home, too? WiFi interference may be a problem. Check for that.
     
  9. Andres

    Andres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Have you tried disabling packet coalescing from the surface pro marvel network adapter?
     
  10. jimbow

    jimbow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So I didn't see the issue I had last month posted. So I figure I'd post the issue and the solution that finally worked.

    Issue: No wireless networks found, Driver was marked as NOT signed and was not able to use wifi for anything :(

    Tried a reboot, tried a hard reboot, did some searching using my smartphone browser and finally came up with the following that worked:

    In device manager DELETE the wifi driver - not just remove the device, but also remove the driver!
    Hard reboot
    Voila! wireless worked again!
     
  11. spinachpie

    spinachpie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ugh. For the last month my sp3 has been having trouble and dropping wifi (requiring a restart).

    I have restarted three times now and no wifi connection. Very frustrating
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,945
    Likes Received:
    1,880
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Other
    New drivers are on the horizon for the Marvell WLAN....
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
sp3 wifi drivers 10074
,

sp3 wifi issues

,
sp3 wifi issues youtube
,
surface pro 3 wifi connects at lower spee when switching networks
,
surface pro 5g connection issues
,
surface pro exclamation on wifi
,
surface wifi problem after windows update feb 2015
,

wifi issues sp4

,

wifi slower on surface pro 3 than other devices

,
windows 10 wifi issues sp3