Power cable fraying

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by wynand32, Aug 28, 2014.

  1. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So, just to prove I'm not a complete SP3 fanboy, here's a complaint: I'm now on my second power adapter, the first one being replaced due to fraying where the cable attaches to the part that connects to the machine. Now, my replacement is also starting to fray.

    Anybody else experiencing this? I swear I'm being very careful with mine, and don't use it in any way that would put undue pressure on the cable or connector. So, it's exceedingly strange that this would be happening.

    I'm going to request another exchange from Microsoft, hopefully it won't be an issue. But I'd love to know at the same time if I'm alone here.

    Edit: As I look at it a little more closely, it does seem like the cable is pulled out at an unfortunate angle where it connects to the machine. I can't figure out how you'd position the machine to avoid stressing that point--the cable should come out perpendicular to the connector, I think.
     
  2. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Mine is also. I'll try post pics. It looks like the jacket is receding from under the power connector, and now I'm getting some exposed ground wires starting to show.
     
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Here's mine right now. I should call while it's still working and get it replaced...

    SP3_Power.JPG
     
  4. jrhillma

    jrhillma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Wow. That looks like the barrel has slipped down (off) the wire, based on the line around the cable a little further down. I would have thought it'd be molded on, or at least more securely attached.
     
  5. fonzman78

    fonzman78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Utah
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I had the same thing happen to me. I traded it back when I upgraded to the SP3 i7 w/512GB SSD. Yes, after much ado, I had to get the 512GB version. What's a few hundred dollars more? <sigh>

    I'm curious to see if it happens again.
     
  6. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Just got Surface Support on a chat, new adapter is on the way.
     
  7. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yep, that's _exactly_ what mine looks like. Contacted support, replacement on the way.
     
  8. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I think that's precisely what's happening, and I'm surprised as well. And I've been very, very careful to unplug from the SP3 by grasping the connector and not the cord.

    I too am curious to see if this happens again. Enough replacements and Microsoft will have to come up with an alternate design.
     
    fonzman78 likes this.
  9. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have a feeling it has something to do with the new stiffer material or wire that the cable is made out of. SP1 and SP2 were not like that.
     
  10. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    yes! that happened to mine also but it seems to be working alright...so what do you do to get MS to send a new one?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    https://www.microsoft.com/surface/en-us/support/

    I used their chat. You can paste the link for this thread into the chat and the tech can see the pics, or he may want you to try to send him one.
     
  12. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I had support call me back (there was a long queue for chat), and the guy didn't hesitate to send me a new one. Didn't have to verify with pics. It'll take 6-8 days for delivery, apparently, which would be a problem if the adapter weren't actually powering the SP3 (which happened with my first one).

    I went ahead and put some electrical tape around mine. I didn't like the idea of the exposed metal touching the magnesium case.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
frayed surface charger
,
frayed surface pro 3 cable
,
how to fix frayed cable on surface charger
,
surface pro 2 power cord fraying
,
surface pro 3 cable adapter fraying
,
surface pro 3 charger fraying
,
surface pro 3 charging cable fraying
,

surface pro 3 power cord fraying

,
surface pro power code frayingii
,
surface pro power cord problems