Printer

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by abbigail behmlander, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. abbigail behmlander

    abbigail behmlander New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi there,

    My surface cannot locate my wireless printer; is there a way to manually add a device?

    Thanks
     
  2. Knuck

    Knuck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Open search.
    Type printer.
    Select advanced printer setup.
    Choose add printer at top left of page.
    Your printer should show up on the list.
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  3. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have my doubts that a printer that has wireless capabilities will just show up in your printer list. I think in most cases you need to go through the setup of the printer from the CD and choose how you want to make the connection. In the case of the Surface, I have had to copy my CD to a SD or thumb drive and run the install that way or a lot of manufacturers like HP have the install setup in their support page for you to download.
     
  4. abbigail behmlander

    abbigail behmlander New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay, I'll try that! Thanks!
     
  5. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    What @bluegrass said, you almost certainly must use the manufacturer's installer, which should reach out and find the printer for you.

    The only exception to that would be if you were technical enough to give your printer a static IP address. If that makes no sense to you, it's totally ok :D and just go with the first suggestion!

    Edit- Actually, I have to go back on what I said. When I set up my SP3 at home, it automatically found and installed my Brother wireless printer, all by itself. So it probably depends on the specific printer, but in my case I didn't have to do anything to make it work.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2014
  6. andersostling

    andersostling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3

    Mine did that. Epson wifi printer that I added through Charms/Settings/Devices.
     
  7. grumpy

    grumpy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Same here. I was rather surprised when my networked HP Officejet automagically first showed up on my SP1 without any intervention on my part. No need to install the overly bloated HP software. One of there very few pleasant surprises of Windows 8.

    I suppose it depends on the printer, but the best bet is to install the latest software/driver package from the manufacturer.
     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Some printer can be found automatically, especially any that Microsoft provides native drivers for. Some newer or not well supported models don't appear automatically. The great thing is that the installers for the printer software have greatly improved and ask in advance if it's wired, WiFi or local and then finds them.

    Once upon a time you needed to fix an IP address in the printer. Not so much any more.
     
  9. ScottyS

    ScottyS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    New York
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yes, I recently got a HP Laserjet Pro 200 Color MFP. I just logged it into my home WiFi and my SP3 had it set as my default printer (I had no other printers) automatically.
     
  10. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That 200 is some printer! Nice.
     
  11. teck

    teck New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I got a Brother MFC9325CW setup as wireless.

    The SP3 install it automatically.
     
  12. olimjj

    olimjj Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Where no man has gone before.
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If have not yet gotten your wireless printer to be added to your network, perhaps you would supply the make and model so that forum members can give you more specific advise.
     

Share This Page