Problems with voice input?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Cortana' started by Good Doc, Aug 8, 2015.

  1. Good Doc

    Good Doc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    I have a Surface 3, which I upgraded to Windows 10 straight from purchase. Since the upgrade whenever I click on the microphone icon in the "Ask me anything" box in the taskbar I hear a sound which implies that the system is waiting for voice input. However, after a fraction of a second this disappears and plays another sound which implies that either an error has occurred, or for one reason or another voice input has been suspended. Immediately after this I am either returned to the default search screen (weather, top news etc.) or else see "find my results on Bing.com". I've tried to configure the microphone, and perform the voice calibration, however nothing that I seem to do makes any difference - it is as if the computer is not even trying to acquire a voice input.

    I should also add, that I've made sure all my region and language settings are set to UK (which is my location), and I have no problems using Cortana via the keyboard.
     
  2. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  3. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,652
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    ^^ yup worked for me... I wonder why win 10 is having that trouble across multiple devices?!!
     
  4. Good Doc

    Good Doc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    I'd already noticed that post, and given the solution a try. Unfortunately it didn't work for me. No matter what I do, whenever I click on the microphone picture I get about 1/10th of a second of voice input, then the computer gives up and starts searching. Obviously I can't have said anything in that amount of time so it searches with a blank field.

    Whenever I do the microphone setup, it seems to accept my voice input, and says that the microphone is set up for use. Consequently I have no doubt that the computer is able to access the microphone, and measure its input (turning the gain down to zero my computer tells me that it can't hear me, so I know that it can "hear" me in normal conditions.)
     
  5. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  6. Good Doc

    Good Doc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Thanks for your reply. I don't have any Bluetooth devices connected, in fact Bluetooth is turned off on my Surface.

    I'll certainly give the link a read, but as far as I can tell the update process seems to have run smoothly.
     
  7. Good Doc

    Good Doc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    After some testing, I've discovered that if I enable "Hey Cortana", my microphone can hear me perfectly well. However a split second after Cortana responds to "Hey Cortana" the same (error?) noise occurs and prevents any voice input. Clearly my microphone is working properly, but it seems that the subsequent voice input just won't activate.

    I've looked at the link provided, and can't see any other evidence that the upgrade process has't worked properly.
     

Share This Page