QHD or Ultra HD 4K monitor better for the SP4?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Jesse Segovia, Aug 2, 2016.

  1. Jesse Segovia

    Jesse Segovia Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm loving my Surface Pro 4 but at my age (55) the small screen is really tough for lots of things, especially some programs (Lotus Notes, WebEx, etc.) that for some reason display in extremely small fonts on the SP4. So this week I'm definitely going to get an external monitor for my home office. I need something that will make tiny fonts very legible and will allow me to do advanced image and video editing.

    My question is which monitor will be the best as far as font and image display and for the shape of the Surface screen, QHD or Ultra 4K HD? Right now my two choices are the Dell Ultra HD 4K P2415Q at 3840 x 2160 pixels or the Dell U2515H QHD at 2560 x 1440. I know the Surface Pro 4 screen resolution is 2736x1824 so the Ultra HD is actually better than the Surface. But which one is going to faithfully reproduce what the actual Surface screen displays?

    Thanks very much!

    Jesse
     
  2. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    set your scaling to 150% and that should help with the small fonts and icons....
     
  3. No_ax_to_grind

    No_ax_to_grind Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro4
    If you have the desk real estate I'd tell you to pop from 24", 25" to 27" or 28", even higher if you can, then set your Surface to 200% and the monitor to 100% or 150%.
     
  4. Jesse Segovia

    Jesse Segovia Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So newer monitors like these have their own scaling, and you can set the SP4 to one level of scaling and the monitor to another?
     
  5. Jesse Segovia

    Jesse Segovia Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks for the suggestion. I actually found I could increase the size of the items in the screen if I increased scaling to 250 and even 300%.
     
  6. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I think 250-300% is overkill but if you think it helps....
     
  7. No_ax_to_grind

    No_ax_to_grind Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Yes, that was, is one of the primary appeals. They really didn't get it right 'til somewhere around build 9926, but it works well for most apps moving, snapping them back and forth across monitors.
     

Share This Page