Quick Advice on Surface Pro 4 M3

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by E-LAN, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. WildKarrde

    WildKarrde New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro2
    AMD is a great budget processor, I currently run one in my gaming PC, but AMD does almost nothing better than a comperable Intel does (for a higher price). To interpret the graphs in laymans terms, the i3 would be about twice as good as what he currently has, and the i5 would be about three times better. The i5 upgrade is certainly worth $100, but he should see a significant improvement without it.

    The blue (after looking at it for about 20 seconds) seems to be those things I talked about that AMD actually does better than Intel, but I wouldn't worry about that much, everything else on the i3 definitely makes up for being behind the AMD in a few categories. Most software companies design their software to take advantage of Intel processors first.

    So to sum it up, the i3 is overall better than the AMD, and the i5 is far better at almost everything than the AMD.

    Of course what GreyFox says is true, it's really depends on how your brother uses his PC, but my best educated guess is that he will see a significant improvement with just the i3, and the i5 would be icing on the cake, as you said.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2015
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,903
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Not to nit pick but it's a m3, Core m3-6y30 to be precise and Intel does still make i3 in the Core i family. Not that Intel product naming has ever not been confusing. :)
     
  3. E-LAN

    E-LAN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Other
    Thanks very much both for the helpful information and clarifications.
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I even remember when I started telling people MHz didn't mean much any more. Note, not even GHz. So the name isn't the thing either.
     
  5. Johnny365

    Johnny365 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Core M3 in SP4 = i3?? Or are people just getting confused and saying it's the low end like in SP3?
     
  6. DocACE911

    DocACE911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Honestly until issues with the m3 are ironed out (firmware vs hardware) stay away.

    Microsoft support admitted to me yesterday known issues with display driver crashing, bsod, and edge browser. They are also "investigating the battery issue"

    Is this a heat issue? M3 issue? Dunno but it is ceazy annoying

    Max out your CPU, browse to eBay, log into your account and crash display driver

    Swapped mine for a new one last night. Will report back. However first attempt at eBay went smooth!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
is surface pro 4 with m3 good enough
,
is the surface pro 4 m3 good
,
microsoft surface pro 4 is m3 enough
,

surface pro 4 m3

,
surface pro 4 m3 ad forum
,
surface pro 4 m3 coding
,
surface pro 4 m3 for coding
,
surface pro 4 m3 for coding forum
,
surface pro 4 m3 minecraft
,
surface pro 4 m3 virtal machines