Ransomware blocked my IE

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by bobdecastro, May 2, 2014.

  1. bobdecastro

    bobdecastro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello there Im just wandering a ransomware "ministry of public safety canada" infected my surface rt that says "attention" your browser has been blocked for safety reasons...." I hope you can help me on how to remove this ransomware on my surface rt. Looking forward to hear from you. thanks.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I'm not sure what else it may have said as some ransomeware encrypts your drive and can't be undone. But you could get Malwarebytes from malwarebytes.org and run it in safe mode, (with networking so it can update), for starters.
     
  3. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    But I thought the RT platform is secured - for the most part - against malware. Or, is it not?
     
  4. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    From most yes, but IE 11 is full version on our RT so it is still susceptible to malmares/viruses that target IE 11... funny you post this question because I just did an update today and it is a security update for IE 11...
     
  5. WillysJeepMan

    WillysJeepMan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    My Device:
    RT
    You are mistaken. IE 11 is NOT a full version on the RT.
     
  6. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I think you are just viewing a web page and the Surface is clean.
     
  7. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Ah...yes...that's the update the most people have been choking about recently. I got that too a day or so back.
     
  8. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    show me where it says this? and I'm not talking about the metro version... I'm talking about the desktop version.
     
  9. WillysJeepMan

    WillysJeepMan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    My Device:
    RT
    I'm not going to play tit-for-tat with you. I could easily challenge you to show me where it says that RT IE *IS* the full version. RT IE is not the full version because it lacks functions of the full desktop version... including support for browser plug-ins, Java, WMV playback. Now you might say that you don't care about those things but those capabilities ARE missing from RT IE.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    OP could you post a screenshot of the Notice? If the Trojan:Win32/Urausy.C Ransomware has infected an RT Machine it would be the first confirmed case... the Notice detects the version of Windows and puts it into the Notice to add validity that it comes from a true authority.

    Here is more information on the Trojan:

    Trojan:Win32/Urausy.C

    Microsoft Malware Protection Center - Ransomware

    Thanks,
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. oion

    oion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    265
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    S2
    I was really wondering if this was possible. Would be interesting if this is the case and not PEBCAK.
     
  12. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Pfft! Not gonna play tot-for-tat with you neither, but your theories on why IE11 on the S2 is not full doesn't hold anything either... reason you can't install plug-ins is because everything on the S2 is more closed down and not being able to install plug-ins (x86) also is OS dependent and installing things is not the same as the S2, doesn't mean that IE11 isn't full version, just means it's more restrictions on what can be installed (no x86 programs)... also Java is being phased out completely and HTML5 is the replacement... so why would you want to install/have Java? But whatever dude, think what you want... :rolleyes:
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how do i get rid of ransomware on surface rt
,
how to remove ransomeware from surface pro 2
,
microsoft surface has been blocked
,
ransomeware on surface tablet
,

ransomware on surface

,

ransomware windows rt

,
surface ie virus
,
surface ransomware
,
will reinstalling windows remove ransomware from surface rt
,
your microsoft computer has been blocked surface tablet