Recording i7 temperatures

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Ramsey, Oct 28, 2014.

  1. Ramsey

    Ramsey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Greetings,

    I just upgraded to an i7 from an i5 and notice some differences in heat. I work as an electrical engineer and due to my work need a device that can manage decent battery life.

    I have been reading all the posts carefully about reducing battery life and so forth. BUT my CPU runs much hotter now. So I am tres curious about the average temperatures.

    Do any i7 owners here monitor their temperatures? I'd love to compare.

    I usually idle at 42 degrees and run from 50-60 degrees with relatively innocuous things bumping it up to the 70's.

    Love you all
     
  2. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    have you made sure that your device is caught up to date with all the updates? also I do know depending on what your running that the i7 does run a little hotter than the other versions, but those temps you posted do sound within the norm... I wouldn't worry so much about it, and just enjoy your device ;)
     
  3. Aegeas

    Aegeas Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My i7 does get warm during games, but I don't sweat it. It is a full blown Windows machine in the form of a tablet. It never overheats, it never shuts down, and it keeps things flowing quickly. I would make sure all of the firmware updates are in place, that you aren't using Google Chrome, and then enjoy your machine. The CPU utilization bug is still there in Chrome.
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  4. VickiFL

    VickiFL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Florida
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've been using Google Chrome with my SP3 i3, and have never had any heat issues. I've also never even heard my fan kick on, not once. Is it because it's the i3?
     
  5. Ramsey

    Ramsey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think it might be due to your i3. I have rather systematically taken down temperatures for my surface. I have decided to let it go also.
     
  6. sean_scouser

    sean_scouser Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    How do you see the temp info ?
     
  7. VickiFL

    VickiFL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Florida
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My husband has a thermal temperature gun. Just aim the red light at the back of the SP3 to get an accurate temperature of the device. You can pick one up at Home Depot for around $35.00, if you are so inclined. Prices vary widely, but you can get a good one for under $50.00. Amazon might also have some good choices.

    In case you're interested: (This is just one choice of many. I only provided the link as an example.)

    http://www.amazon.com/HDE-Temperature-Infrared-Thermometer-Laser/dp/B002YE3FS4
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2014
  8. megatronium

    megatronium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The i7 does get hot when running CPU intensive tasks. If you're sensitive to heat and hold your SP3 at the back right of it, you may want to look elsewhere. It still outperforms the i5 and broadwell equipped Yoga 3. It's a beast. I do most of my Premiere work on it. It even outclasses my Core2Quad 9550 which, admittedly is very long in the tooth.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That wont really tell you CPU temperature though which by spec is rated at 100c at the TJunction. Fortunately you can get free software that will read the temp from the CPU and other sensors in the unit.

    Search or download http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html
     
    VickiFL likes this.

Share This Page