Resolutions - Destroying my eyesight!

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Clarky, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Clarky

    Clarky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,

    I recently invested in a Surface Pro 3. Fantastic piece of kit.

    But this resolution is really hurting my eyes and I'm struggling to focus.

    The issue I have is, the scaling is fine which fixes the general GUI, but software and such doesn't scale nor do web pages etc.

    Is there a smaller resolution that fits the Pro 3 screen properly rather than 2160*1440.

    Cleartype also isn't helping.

    Any suggestions welcome.

    Cheers.
     
  2. norir82

    norir82 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Need specifics, which programs are not scaling well for you?
     
  3. Clarky

    Clarky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, IE for example. The webpages are clearly being displayed in the full 2160*1440 resolution. As if its wrapped in an enlarged GUI if that makes sense?
     
  4. Bandito

    Bandito Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Can you post a screenshot so that we can see what you're seeing?
     
  5. ynohtna

    ynohtna Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Actually he's right, I do the zoom myself in IE... but if you tell IE 100%... it should be 100% of what your screen scaling is. If you look at my screen of IE at 100% zoom and my control panel, they should be the same size!

    I'm only doing 125% scaling currently

    ie11-100percentvsControlPanel.PNG
     
  6. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Try using Modern IE. Basically, almost all Modern apps will scale well. All bets are off for desktop apps.
     
  7. FlySwatter

    FlySwatter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Georgia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    But no add-on support for Modern IE right? Last Pass for instance is not an option for the Metro version, correct?
     
  8. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    But on the desktop IE I set the zoom to 150% and its perfect...
     
    daniielrp and ScottyS like this.
  9. annabanana

    annabanana Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    at the beach
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I don't have a problem with seeing IE in desktop or MUI, what kills my eyes are the Windows dialogue boxes and there doesn't seem to be a way to make them larger. I've read its not recommend to change the device resolution but I don't know why... Screen clipping added Capture.PNG
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2014
  10. annabanana

    annabanana Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    at the beach
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It's not anywhere near that large, geez.
     
  11. Clarky

    Clarky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's just to large a resolution for the screen. It kind of defeats the object of having a super HD resolution and then scaling everything.

    If there was a smaller resolution with the correct ratio (16:10 or whatever it is) then this would make things so much easier.

    Or an option to just scale everything.

    The worst thing is I do a lot of command line work and SSH/remote access work. And it messes with all of that entirely.
     
  12. ruinah

    ruinah Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    This drives me nuts. Putty is so small I can hardly read anything unless I scale it again which requires a logout which means closing change management and all other windows.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

supported resolution surface pro 4

,

surface pro 2 eyesight

,

surface pro impact on eyesight