Router for SP3

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by clrk9000, Jul 14, 2014.

  1. clrk9000

    clrk9000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Please list what router you are using and whether or not you experience WIFI Limited.

    Linksys EA4500 --- Wifi Limited at both 2.4G and 5G
    Dlink 506L (no 5G)--- Wifi Limited at 2.4G
    Dlink 506L on repeater mode --- Wifi is perfect, no problem connecting on wakeup.

    Thanks.


    note: setting power options to Max Performance seemingly solved the Wifi Limited issue.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2014
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Asus RT-N56U
    2.5G without any problems besides the fact that this router has a poor range.
    5G limited
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2014
  3. ipaq_101

    ipaq_101 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Linksys E1500 -- Wifi Limited
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Netgear R7000 Nighthawk - WiFi works really well....
     
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Got the limited error while connected to the 5G band.
     
  6. strollin

    strollin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N Calif
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I haven't had any problems with my Netgear R6300 router on either 2.4 or 5 ghz.
     
  7. clrk9000

    clrk9000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    if tomorrow's firmware update does not solve this WIFI Limited, i will get a new netgear router. It appears that Netgear Router is more compatible with SP3 Wifi module.

    Thanks Strollin and Roach for the info.

    ps. i really like this SP3 despite its seeming incompatibility with Linksys routers.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2014
  8. RottenMutt

    RottenMutt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ft Worth
    My Device:
    SPro3
    i ordered my r8000, just need to wait for it to arrive...
     
  9. scottysize

    scottysize Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Apple AirPort Time capsule. No limited with it. I do experience the WiFi connection issue when on battery coming out of sleep mode, but that's a Microsoft issue, not a WiFi issue.

    Caution... Apple Plug: It's the best WiFi router available. I've gone through Linksys, Netgears, and even the crappy DLinks. Nothing compares to the AirPort.

    My opinion. Remember, I'm an Apple FanBoy with a Surface Pro 3.
     
  10. joell85

    joell85 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UT, USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    ASUS N66U (Work) - 5g and 2.4g both work "most of the time". Switching from one to the other will always fix the limited issue for me.

    Google Fiber Router (Home) - Exactly the same situation as the Asus.
     
  11. clrk9000

    clrk9000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I am not a fanboy though I am really fanatic about by Ipad and Imac. I am using Windows Machines for work due to specialized software. I love this SP3 for those times.

    Back to router, do you experience wifi not connected properly (ie WIFI Limited) upon waking up with Airport?

    July 16 hardware update seemingly fixed the WIFI Limited issue. HOWEVER, I am thinking still of upgrading to an AC router as I have several AC Wifi clients already.

    And yes, this WIFI Limited is obviously a Microsoft issue as my other computers, equipment and gadgets can connect consistently and without issue. Only this SP3 is having problem with my Linksys EA4500. OVERALL, I love this SP3 for what it does but this is no IPAD really. Please don't send me to the gallows :).
     
  12. RottenMutt

    RottenMutt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ft Worth
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Then please buy mine then! I'm constantly needing to swap between 2.4 and 5 GHz to restore my lost internet access on all wireless laptops. The thing doesn't crash, but will not restart when hot!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

best router for ms sp3

,

cisco linksys ea 4500 and surface pro 3

,

linksys 1900ac microsoft surface

,

microsoft surface rt netgear range max wpaz-aes

,

surface pro ac router incompatibility

,

surface pro airport time capsule

,

surface pro linksys ea 4500