Run an executable to set homepage to MSN??

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by annabanana, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. annabanana

    annabanana Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    at the beach
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have my msn set as homepage and noticed the content hasn't been changed for several days now. So I checked out the new MSN page and was going to set as homepage, but I have to run an executable to do that? My first reaction was WTF!?? Is there a reason for this? Can anyone explain? Thanks.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That doesn't sound good. It sounds like malware to me.
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    MSN's old page is going away on September 30, the new one is currently at preview.msn.com and you shouldn't run .exe to set it....
     
  4. annabanana

    annabanana Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    at the beach
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I didn't think so either - did not run it. I'll ask some of my security researcher friends to check.
     
  5. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Good idea. Are you using some other protection besides Defender?
     
  6. annabanana

    annabanana Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    at the beach
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I use Kaspersky Internet Security, never use Defender. I found out the file defaultpack.exe is a legitimate file, digitally signed by Microsoft that sets homepage to msn.com and installs Bing. It still seems very odd that Microsoft would require to run this file to set the homepage. I'm hoping after the preview is over I can set homepage without it. Otherwise I sill not have msn as my homepage. Just on principal.
     

Share This Page