Screen brightness SP3 VS SP1

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Surface User, Mar 21, 2015.

  1. Surface User

    Surface User New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I noticed when i adjusted the screen brightness to full (100 percent) on both the SP3 and the SP1 and had them beside each other that the SP1 was much brighter att full brightness compared to the SP3.
    I dont know if it´s that much but it´s clearly a visible difference.
    Is this only happenening with my units or do you also see the same thing in yours if you compare them with each other?
    I would appreciate if somebody could check this thing with your units.

    P.S. Both units are i5 and the SP1 has 128 GB and the SP3 has 256 GB, if that for some reason should matter?
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    According to a couple sources the SP3 has a max screen brightness of 371 nits while the SP1 has a max of 400 nits.

    I never had a SP1 but the Surface 2 is also rated at 400 nits and it will definitely get brighter than the SP3 at max although I usually use them set to about the same brightness.
     
  3. LukeJoseph

    LukeJoseph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not quite sure why companies list brightness as a "feature". Yes outdoors it helps, but just about any modern display gets plenty bright, more problems are caused by glare.

    371 nits = 371 cd/m2 = 108.28 ftL. A lot of professional photo, video editors (really anyone needing color accuracy and reduced eye strain) calibrate their monitors between 120 and 180 cd/m2.
     
  4. Surface User

    Surface User New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay well seems thats the explanation then. The brightness of the SP3 is enough for me, just wondered if this is something intentional as it seems to be, or if there was something defective going on with my SP3?
    Actually i have my brightness setting a bit less then half, i can't say a number since the brightness setting in settings are not shoving a number for the brightness.
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Now I got to go get a light meter D'oh! :)
     

Share This Page