screen shot?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by Arizona Willie, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. Arizona Willie
    Offline

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    How do I take a screen shot with the Surface Pro?

    There is no < print screen key >.

    NEVERMIND :)

    I found it.
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  2. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    For any others reading this. Windows button (on the bezel) and Vol - button at the same time.
  3. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    And if you want to post a pix to this forum using Surface RT you have to do it from the Desktop browser in compatibility mode.
  4. Arizona Willie
    Offline

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    And when they say " at the same time " that is EXACTLY what they mean. A bit tricky. Too tricky. You can easily lose your screen shot trying to do this.

    Does Windows 8 have any macro functions so we could make a key combination that will do this instead of the tricky fingerwork required now?
  5. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Actually you can hold the Windows button and then press Vol - within a couple of seconds. Shouldn't be tricky that way :)
  6. Arizona Willie
    Offline

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Unless IE10 is your default browser, you can't use the Metro IE anyway.
    And it has to be the ugliest browser I've ever seen. Metro IE that is.
    Not really much of a loss not to be able to use it.
  7. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I'm not sure what you mean by that. I prefer the Modern UI browser. My only gripe is I can't post a pix to this forum from it.
  8. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
  9. revbilly
    Offline

    revbilly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I figured out the secret. To take a "Screen Shot" hold the Window Button First, then push the volume button. You should see the screen flash. When I press this combination at the same time my Pro says: "Starting narrator." Repeating the dual press results in "closing narrator."
  10. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    It isn't the pressing timing that starts the narrator it is the combination. Windows Vol+ = narrator and Windows Vol- = screen shot. You are correct that it doesn't have to be at the same time though. Some people find it easier to hold the Windows key and then press the vol- (or vol+ if you want narrator).
  11. ArnoldC
    Offline

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    It is actually *that* easy!
  12. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I know the answer! lol
  13. bikeazoid
    Offline

    bikeazoid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Snag-It, and love it, the new version works great with the pen. You can add all kinds of annotations and thinking bubbles.
  14. Joe Duke
    Offline

    Joe Duke New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You can press the "Windows" and "Volume" buttons at the same time to take a screenshot. Or you can also make use of the built-in screenshot tool-Snipping Tool. For more solutions to screenshot on Surface Pro, discover them here.
  15. jeffskent
    Offline

    jeffskent Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I like the free program: Gadwin Printscreen Version 4.7. It allows screen shots to be saved in .jpeg format and seems very fast and reliable.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to take a screenshot on surface pro

,

screen shot on surface pro

,
screen shot surface 2
,

screen shot surface pro

,

screenshot on surface pro

,

screenshot surface pro

,

surface pro screen shot

,

surface pro screenshot