What's new

Seeking Feedback for My Casual Needs

tskwara

I really like these forums and read them more than I should, as I don't own a Surface - although my daughter has an RT and won't part with it for more than a few minutes.

Just a few sentences to set the context:

As an iOS developer I can't part with my Macbook Pro Retina 15". I really enjoy using it though and find myself on the sofa with it at home even when just browsing online and catching up on email and whatnot. I'm not sure why I do this as I have an iPad Mini Retina on hand as well (need it for app testing). It must be the large HDPI screen that makes the experience that much more enjoyable.

Whether for work or enjoyment, I occasionally sketch ideas, notes, or doodle (trying to pick up some basic art skills) on paper and sometimes later scan them into my Macbook for possible reference later. I purchased a Wacom Intuous tablet a couple months ago to help streamline this paper process, but I just can't coordinate between a separate screen and digitizer. It is painful and I don't think it will get better for me. I'm not that bad with drawing and have decent handwriting, but the off-screen tablet workflow yields terrible results and I've had to go back to paper and pencil.

Recent discovery:

I was able to spend several hours with a Surface Pro 3 and found the drawing and note taking experience game changing. Drawing in Fresh Paint made me feel like an artist at times. Drawing in Sketchbook Pro was really nice too. OneNote was interesting and I can see how that may work for my note taking needs. Overall the time I spent with the SP3 was enjoyable to say the least.

To the point: