setting up a replacement SP3

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by 79jonesy, Sep 9, 2014.

  1. 79jonesy

    79jonesy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi,
    I have a replacement SP3 due to be delivered on Thurs from Microsoft. (I'm in the UK and hoping it's a new SP3 and not a refurb ;).) I chose the advanced exchange option so I wouldn't be without a machine. How do I move my current set up to the new SP3? I have all of my documents saved in the onedrive and have signed in with a Microsoft account and not a local machine. I'm completely new to Windows so wasn't sure what to do. Is there a migrate to new computer option like in osx? If so should I use it or set it up from scratch?
    Thanks
     
  2. BillJ

    BillJ Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA United States
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The process is really quite simple. If you have your PC settings set to sync with OneDrive, when you start your new machine it should be automatically populated with:
    a) all of your MUI (Modern UI Windows store) applications
    b) start screen preferences
    c) IE preferences including passwords and sign-ons. Just make sure your old machine is backed up. You will lose all of your x86 applications, and will need to re-install those.
    You will also need to redevelop your local OneDrive folder, by allowing data to download to your PC (if you wish to keep your data offline)

    I have an SD card with iTunes files that I switch from PC to PC; occasionally that music file becomes unreadable to other computers, and I need to reinstall the music files from an external hard drive that I use for my local backups.
     
  3. 79jonesy

    79jonesy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Brilliant. Thanks for the reply. That seems pretty straight forward. Hadn't thought about using an micro SD card for iTunes. Think I'll do that too.
     
  4. kevroc

    kevroc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I've done this a couple of times now trying out tablets between a Thinkpad 10 and Surface Pro 3, etc.

    When setting up the new tablet I was asked if I wanted to use the configuration from one I previously had, kind of like when you get a new iPhone or iPad.

    Another important item I found was to just let the tablet sit for an hour or two after logging in so it could do it's syncing uninterrupted. I did that last time and got a really good mirror of my old system onto my new one, I just let it charge and sync for awhile.

    Also, as mentioned above, apps need to be reinstalled, but you can copy some data over using a microsd card or thumb drive. For desktop apps, a lot of data is stored in the %appdata% folder so you can sometimes successfully copy that over for the respective desktop apps you need to reinstall.
     
  5. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi, welcome to the forum, and thanks for the good input!
     
  6. HarnessTech

    HarnessTech Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    What I have done prior to a factory reset is move the various document, pictures, videos, etc. folders to the OneDrive folder. It's a bit tedious but not really all that bad.

    For each folder I want to store on OneDrive, I right-click on it and select Properties then go to the Location tab. The rest is pretty self-explanatory.
     
  7. 79jonesy

    79jonesy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Unfortunately the replacement unit Microsoft sent me has a white dot on the screen like someone has pressed their thumb into it really hard. The replacement is going back so will try again!!
     

Share This Page