What's new

Should I buy a Surface Pro 3?

carly

If I have a one year old Dell Inspiron 15r and I am a student should I replace it with a SP3 or just keep my laptop? My issue is that it is very heavy and hard to lug around campus.

malberttoo

If I have a one year old Dell Inspiron 15r and I am a student should I replace it with a SP3 or just keep my laptop? My issue is that it is very heavy and hard to lug around campus.

Welcome to the forum!

There are tons of threads on the forum about how the SP3 fits into student life, almost all positive. But I wouldn't consider it an "even exchange" for another laptop, the SP3 has a ton of extra features that set it apart.

Do you know much about the SP3? What about it is attractive to you besides the weight?

OP
C

carly

Welcome to the forum!

There are tons of threads on the forum about how the SP3 fits into student life, almost all positive. But I wouldn't consider it an "even exchange" for another laptop, the SP3 has a ton of extra features that set it apart.

Do you know much about the SP3? What about it is attractive to you besides the weight?
I mainly am interested in it because of the note taking capabilities as well as the size but at the same time I feel a little wasteful since I have such a new laptop...

malberttoo

I mainly am interested in it because of the note taking capabilities as well as the size but at the same time I feel a little wasteful since I have such a new laptop...

If you're near a Best Buy or Microsoft Store, go and check a SP3 out. I understand what you're saying about having a pretty new laptop, but honestly the SP3 isn't even in the same class, it's just a totally (and IMHO awesome-er) experience. It's like saying "I really want a car, but I feel wasteful because I just got this mo-ped last summer"... :D Just different experiences, I think.

GreyFox7

Super Moderator
Staff member
You could sell the Dell to recover so e costs but it looks like the SP3 would cost you more.