Should i give the Surface a new try ?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Ozozuz, Apr 22, 2016.

  1. Ozozuz

    Ozozuz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi guyz, i'm asking you a simple question, should i give a new chance to the Surface ?

    I bought the Surface Pro 3 at day one and before being forced to sell it a couple of months later i sent it to microsoft around 7-8 times w/out receiving a single devices that was "in my opinion" at least decent.
    The main reason i keep sending it back was a truly excessive bleeding, i can expect it "or at least that MUCH" on a 400€ notebook or less, not on a 1000+ premium device.

    I used my surface a lot during night, watching movies or coding and it was absolutely intolerable but since after every exchange the problem keep occurring i assumed that the problem wasn't in my devices but in all the surface pro 3.

    Another big problem was the fan spinning every times even when not in hard load condition, but that's another story.

    Despite all this problem, i really loved the surface as a devices and concept, and the sp4 is really beautifull "as much as expensive".
    Since those two aren't problem that i can check in a second in a big shop "i need some times and a room with low ambient light" i'm asking you about this :)

    What should i do ?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    If that was a problem that many times I would give up and try something else. But that's just me. All the SP4s I've had my hands on, (quite a few), have been nearly perfect in every way.
     
  3. Ozozuz

    Ozozuz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I was forced to gived up with the sp3, now i'm asking about the sp4 sice, well, i really like it !
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I based my comment on your primary complaint, screen bleed. I don't suspect it would be much different with the SP4 as it may be an issue with how sensitive you are to it. I wouldn't expect any one SP4 would be any better than 7/8 SP3s. Your call.
     
  5. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It's the rare large-screen LCD that has absolutely zero screen bleed. My SP3 had some, and my SP4 that's replaced it has some. It's minor, doesn't affect my enjoyment of the machine, but it's there. The best you'll be able to do, probably, is buy one and see, because nobody will be able to provide any guarantees.
     
    leeshor likes this.
  6. Ozozuz

    Ozozuz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Every quality devices that i have ever had in my life had a much less bleeding then all the sp3 i had, even if they are less expensive, this is not ips glow wich is 100% accettable, this is pure bleeding :c

    I'll make it simple, those are 2 photo of my last sp3, not the worst , not the best I have had.
    Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet
    Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet
    For my standard this is garbage quality, if you think that i'll have to deal with this again, i'll be forced to choose something else.
     
  7. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    i've never seen bleed like that on any of my surface models
     
  8. Ozozuz

    Ozozuz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    All the sp3 I had were more or less like this , some of them even worse, that's why i'm asking about this.
     
  9. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It looks like you have the screen brightness at full. Also you might try adjusting the contrast.
     
  10. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Don't think you have control of screen brightness at startup. But brightness aside, that bleeding is terrible. There should not be a need to start adjusting brightness and contrast. The screen should be "functional" with any brightness offered.
     
  11. Ozozuz

    Ozozuz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    No offense but it makes no sense.
    I'm not allowed to set the brightness i want and i have to manually try compensate screens defects adjusting contrast in order to use a 1000+ devices correctly ?

    that's the point of this thread !
     

Share This Page