Show Windows Stacked/Side by Side

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Exhile, May 7, 2017.

  1. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I haven't installed some 3rd party user interface software. Are you able to "show windows stacked" or "show windows side by side" with your Surface Book?

    The Windows 10 build I am running is 10.0.15063 Build 15063
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,808
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Yep -
    upload_2017-5-8_14-27-30.png

    upload_2017-5-8_14-28-16.png
     
  3. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    What the hell?!?! How come the Surface Book can do it properly but my SP4 can't.....???

    This is what happens when I try to "stack" or "side by side".
     

    Attached Files:

    jeanj likes this.
  4. Plantje

    Plantje Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    I saw the same thing as you, Exhile.

    For jnjroach: did you really use the taskbar options? Or just used dragging?
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,808
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I've never used the taskbar method - I usually use the "hot corner" method - Taskbar works with just the Surface but with an additional monitor my results are like yours...
     
  6. Plantje

    Plantje Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    I never use that method either. Just did it as a test. I don't think a lot of people use the taskbar method
     
  7. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Hey, I use the taskbar method since Windows XP. The feature must be there for a reason and no one knows statistically how many people use it.
     
  8. Plantje

    Plantje Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    No offence meant....
     
  9. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    No worries. I just hope that Microsoft will fix this problem.
     
  10. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Eastern USA & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    @Exhile

    You are correct. Even with the latest Insider Build of Windows 10, the Taskbar method to Choose windows side-by-side does not do that, but instead places the windows one above the other.
     
  11. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Well, for you Surface Book users there doesn't seem to be a problem but for us Surface 3 or Surface Pro 4 users there is. So I guess this is hardware specific to Windows 10.
     
  12. Plantje

    Plantje Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    I don't really get that... Why would this be a bigger issue for Surface 3 (Pro) and Surface Pro 4 users? I always use the cursor keys combined with the Windows key or just drag the window to the side.
    The only reason for me to test the taskbar method is because you as a fellow Surface owner were having an issue :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
azs
,

best cameras

,
show windows7 stacked
,
side by side on surface
,
stacked windows tabletmode