Side swiping acting up

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Gary.M, Sep 23, 2014.

  1. Gary.M

    Gary.M Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi, I have noticed an issue these past few days whereby in order to swipe from the right to reveal the charms menu I have to do it either from the top right or bottom right whereas previously anywhere on the right would reveal the charms. The same with swiping from left to show other apps/windows running - it is now very tricky to do this as I have to swipe down diagonally from the top left. Previously I only had to swipe from anywhere on the left edge of the screen. Also, ever since I had my sp3 to drag down from the top to shut down an app has worked fine except for the mail app.

    Does anyone else experience this and is there a way to fix it?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If your using a mouse, you need to go to the corners for the charm menu. The fingers should still work anywhere on the right side for the charm menu.
     
  3. Gary.M

    Gary.M Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yes, the mouse works that way. It seems to work that way too with touch now, it never used to
     
  4. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    There are a couple check boxes in Taskbar & Navigation properties that you may want to experiment with. You right click on the taskbar, choose properties, & than select the Navigation tab. There are a couple check boxes that you might want to uncheck and see if that helps. Mine or both checked but they only seem to affect the mouse and not the finger.
     
  5. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    also make sure your screen is clean and not greasy finger marks as that can wreak havoc with the touch sensors! ;)
     
  6. Gary.M

    Gary.M Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The screen is clean and touch works fine everywhere else. Strangely using the pen to accomplish the above tasks still works flawlessly, so not sure what the problem is o_O
     
  7. lbtaylor1984

    lbtaylor1984 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Remove the type cover let me know how you get on
     
  8. Gary.M

    Gary.M Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Still the same I'm afraid
     
  9. lbtaylor1984

    lbtaylor1984 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Try it with the pen next. If that doesn't work the digitizer is messed up
     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Quick question....did you Calibrate the Touch Screen from the Desktop Control Panel? If so Reset and re-try....

    upload_2014-9-26_12-0-8.png
     
  11. Gary.M

    Gary.M Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It works fine with the pen
     
  12. Gary.M

    Gary.M Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    BRILLIANT! Works fine now. Many thanks!
     
    jnjroach likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

the mouse on muy surface 3 is acting up