Skype....

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by keyboard, Dec 26, 2014.

  1. keyboard

    keyboard New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am in need of some advice .... I have the Surface Pro and the Docking station...

    My question is:
    If I open up the "Skype" app and then enable the "Sleep" mode, then put it back in the Docking Station. Now if my son skype's me a couple hours later ( or 3 days later ), will the Surface Pro notify me when he tries to skype me ?

    Thanks
    Ron
     
  2. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I think it should work because when it is plugged in or docked it stays in "connected standby" and so when your son calls it should ring.. but don't take my word for it as I'm not 100% sure... I'm sure others will know and chime in
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,104
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    As long as it is in Connected Standby it will notify you....
     
  4. keyboard

    keyboard New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Awesome !!!! Thanks Guys !!!! Great support..:)
     
  5. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    ahhh! so I was right? lol I am JNJRoach padawan! lmao
     
    jnjroach likes this.
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,341
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Um, point of clarification... If four hours pass and the device transitions into hibernation you would not get notifications correct??? OR do we have Connected Hibernate??? Perhaps I've missed something.
     
  7. keyboard

    keyboard New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Bummer :(:(:(:( I was hoping that I could get the same functionality as my Blackberry Playbook. I use it as a video phone. I keep it in a docking station waiting for a "video chat" from my son who lives 4 hours away. While it is in the cradle , it waits for any video chats, then notifies me when necessary ( hours, days ,weeks or months later )

    The reason why I am hoping that the Surface Pro would have the same functionality , is that Blackberry is not supporting the Playbook anymore.
     
  8. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    @ greyfox no! when the device is plugged in or docked, it stays in connected stand by like I said in my previous post.... so even if its the day after you can still get a call on Skype... that's what happened with my device when my GF called the next morning and I still got the ring notification? also why would you disable connected stand by when you want that to stay on? do you know what connected stand by is? connected stand buy lets the SP3 turn off but still receive all your emails and/or push notifications to your SP3 and doesn't allow your SP3 to go into hibernate.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,341
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ok, never mind!!! Pfft
     
  10. bertopl

    bertopl Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    does the OP have a surface pro 3? I assumed he had the original surface pro which doesn't have connected standby?
     
  11. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,104
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    That is true, I didn't notice that this was posted in the SP Forum, if you are using a SP or SP2 you would need to disable Sleep while plugged in...
     
  12. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    doh! didn't even notice that either LOL so used to the SP3 being discussed that I just assume that's what we're talking about :oops:
     

Share This Page