Sleep mode is comatose mode

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Artov, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. Artov

    Artov New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, after a number of updates the surface pro 3 going into a permanent sleep mode seemed to be happening less often. Appearances are so deceptive.

    Now leaving it on battery and with the keyboard attached, it goes to sleep after 4 minutes as it should, and after a couple of minutes that is that. Comatose. Keyboard remains illuminated but no way to awaken it. Has to be rebooted.

    I have to say I have never had any equipment that has more bugs than the surface pro 3. Downloaded the latest updates today. No change. No way my staff will be getting these- not fit for purpose unfortunately.
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Have you tried refreshing the unit?
     
  3. Artov

    Artov New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not sure what refreshing is. I have not done a complete re-set and reinstalled everything from scratch. We don't generally have to re-install the OS to get hardware to work when it is new. :)
     
  4. Artov

    Artov New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah- just found what a refresh is. No I have not done this as it removes all the apps that have been installed. A reset to factory settings (where it was going into comatose mode) is going to give one of my staff a heap of work and presumably take it back to the same issue it had at the start. No I will have to write this off as an expensive mistake and wait until Microsoft eventually issue an update that works!
     
  5. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    During the initial configuration a driver may have failed to install correctly. A Refresh may fix these issues.

    Capture.JPG
     
  6. Artov

    Artov New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    True. One of my staff did try and update all the drivers but that would not necessarily catch everything of course. I think my concern is that this is not a one off issue as I have read of it on a number of forums. I will see if we have a quiet spell then perhaps we can go for the full refresh.
    Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro permanant sleep mode

,

surface update sleep mode