Slow Wi-Fi with Surface

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by Leica, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. Leica
    Offline

    Leica New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Wi-Fi router is the Apple Airport Extreme (latest generation). On my MacBook Pro Retina if I copy files from my server I get speeds of around 18MB/s. On my Surface it is only at about 5MB/s.

    Why so much slower? Isn't the Surface also 5GHz 802.11n?

    Is there something wrong?

    Thank you.
  2. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    179
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    Other
    There have been some widely reported issues with WiFi performance on the Surface. But you may want to try a channel change on your router to see if it makes a difference.
  3. R0bR
    Offline

    R0bR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried everything with my setup and I can only get between 4-5MB/s on the Surface. This is the only performance issue I have with the Surface because it affects streaming of HD video. At first I thought the Mobile HD app was having trouble with MKV's because every once in a while my video stream stutters. Add to that I stream the audio to my external speakers through Bluetooth which makes the audio out of sync a bit (doesn't happen with standard video files). I copied the MKV local, at a slow 4-5MB/s, and the video plays perfect. I'm pretty sure that the Surface could handle streaming the HD video if MS would fix this wireless throughput limitation. Perhaps in an attempt to fix the wireless connectivity issue they are limiting the throughput or something.
  4. magicrobots
    Offline

    magicrobots New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I had problems with my Surface and other Win 8 machine dropping my wireless networks (both at home and at work) and I found that turning channel hopping of on the router and selecting the least populated channel made a huge difference in performance. I haven't had a dropped signal yet, and throughput is good. I haven't measured, but haven't felt that it's been slow either.
  5. Leica
    Offline

    Leica New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for this helpful post. So I guess that this a known limitation/problem with the Surface.

    By the way, I tried a friend's Acer W510 tablet on my network and the transfer speed was the exact same as the Surface's 4-5MB/s. The Acer W510 is a Windows 8 tablet based on the Clover Trail SoC - smaller and lighter than the Surface yet runs the full blown Windows 8!

    I have another PC, which is the Intel NUC with the Intel 6235 Wi-Fi PCI card and that gets MacBook like 15-18MB/s speeds.

    I wonder if the Surface and W510 are using only 2.4GHz?
  6. Mr.NK
    Offline

    Mr.NK Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Berlin
    My Device:
    RT
    No, Surface uses 5Ghz too, but the Samsung ATIV Tab seems to be the only Arm/Atom-based-Tbalet (on Win) with a competitive wifi-speed (according to anandtech)
  7. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I get good speeds on mine. Screenshot (7).png
  8. Leica
    Offline

    Leica New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are getting bits and bytes mixed up! Note the capital (upper case) "B" = byte = 8 x "b" :)
  9. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I don't understand your statement. MB and Mbps aren't the same?
  10. Leica
    Offline

    Leica New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No. 1MB = 8Mb. Huge difference!

    Like 16 oz = 1 lb or 12"=1'

    Sadly both begin with a "b" :)

    Obviously Wi-Fi even at the reduced speeds of 4-5MB/s (32-40Mbps) are sufficient for most people for surfing the net. But for people like me who want to view 1080p videos stored on my server it isn't enough!
  11. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Now I see. Screenshot (8).png
  12. GreatWindows
    Offline

    GreatWindows New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol......that speed is perfectly fine 20 up and 17 down is more then enough speed.
  13. GreatWindows
    Offline

    GreatWindows New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. Leica
    Offline

    Leica New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Especially the upload. Great for Dropbox, SkyDrive, etc.
  15. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Now I learned something today! :D
  16. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Here is my desktop [​IMG]
  17. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
  18. Bear
    Offline

    Bear New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Have you retested since the February patch? A wifi update was included.
  19. bosamar
    Offline

    bosamar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    I'll have to retest when I get home - where my fast wifi is located.
  20. R0bR
    Offline

    R0bR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need to use LAN performance testing not Internet access testing if you want to see if there has been any change since the update. Of course you will have had to baseline it prior to the update in order to compare.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface slow wifi
,
slow wifi surface
,
slow wifi surface pro
,
slow wifi surface pro 2
,
slow wifi surface rt
,
surface 2 slow wifi
,
surface 2 wifi slow
,

surface pro 2 slow wifi

,
surface pro 2 wifi slow
,
surface pro 2 wireless slow
,
surface pro 3 slow wifi
,
surface pro 3 wifi slow
,

surface pro slow wifi

,
surface pro slow wireless
,

surface pro wifi slow

,
surface pro wifi speed
,

surface rt slow wifi

,
surface rt wifi slow
,

surface slow wifi

,
surface wifi slow