SOLD OUT!

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by iDatus, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. iDatus

    iDatus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK Worcester
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Unless you want the two base models i3 and i5 4GB the UK has SOLD OUT!
    So much for the SP3 is too expensive, only been out 2 days......
    MS may have some in stock I can't tell but John Lewis & PC World all GONE!....

    Great to see something that Microsoft is making SOLD OUT......

    Man I'm so lucky to have me i5 8GB....
     
  2. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Meaningless without knowing initial stock levels tbh.

    Nexus 10 was sold out from day 1 and was almost always hard to get. If that was an indication that it was a commercial success, then it would be odd for them never to release a 10 inch tablet again.
     
  3. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The Surface Pro 3 is not too expensive for its target market. Cost has never been the issue, functionality was. If I owned a major corporation I would buy an SP3 for every sales, IT and production person on staff.
     
    fonzman78 and unruledboy like this.
  4. iDatus

    iDatus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK Worcester
    My Device:
    SPro3
    yeah agreed. I'm not saying its too expensive I was referring to press/reviews and some members comments.
    its not meaningless as sold out is sold out.
    yes we don't know numbers. More interesting would be to hear if other countries have similar status.
     
  5. gdir

    gdir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've checked some shops here in Germany. All models seem to be available within a few days. Some shops seem to have sold their initial stock due to preorders. But no really shortage here. Maybe only the right hand drive models are affected from shortage? ;)
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  6. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    But without figures then "sold out" doesn't mean anything. It's a couple of words. It doesn't actually have any significance and is no indication of anything good or bad.
     
  7. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    China also sold out, next stock will be on late September..................OMG
     
  8. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The only thing which can prevent SP3 from becoming a runaway hit with professional users is the screen issues, specifically the yellow streak problem. That could result in a recall which would be terrible press.

    Really hard to believe MS let that problem slip through the cracks.

    I believe the yellow streak and light bleed in general comes back to MS' decision to use glue rather than screws and fasteners to hold their SP3 together. Bad choice IMHO that may come back to bite them. Seems to be causing screen problems not to mention making the SP3 basically unrepairable. Odd to use so many premium components then slather it altogether with something as unpredictable as glue. Might save a tiny bit on weight but the tradeoffs seem hardly worth it.

    ** Besides weight one major reason for the use of glue is that MS doesn't want people to be able to drop in their own SSD.
     
  9. klausd

    klausd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I think it's the lack of Kensington Lock which prevents me from using it at work. Seriously, why does a Pro Laptop /Tablet does not have it?

    Everything else is great, have mine since Friday. I5 8GB.

    Best regards,

    Klaus
     
  10. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    well, even for a desktop, it will be stolen... ipad also does not have the lock, right?
     
  11. klausd

    klausd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If Microsoft wants to see their Surface in Consulting Companies, they have to add Kensington as it is a policy to have it locked @ Client.
     
  12. DeltaXray

    DeltaXray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Laptops maybe but I don't know a single company that insists on locking down tablets. Surface doesn't need a Kensington lock slot.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
surface 2 sold out
,

surface pro 4 sold out