[Solved!] Pro will now not accept RDP calls.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by Russ, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    I have been using RDP from my desktop, Win8-1, for setting up the Pro, just because it's more comfortable for me. Got a lot of stuff done, but now the Pro has decided not to accept the calls. I get a message that says "The connection was denied because the user account is not authorized for remote login." It's the same connection credential that I was using earlier and it worked. Strange.

    The problem appears to be in the relationship between Win8-1 and the Pro, because I went to another computer and was able to RDP to the Pro. I can RDP to other computers from Win8-1.

    It's not a firewall issue, because I turned off Firewall on both ends and that didn't help. The access credential I'm using on Win8-1 is shown as "allowed access" in RDP on the Pro.

    Any suggestions, anybody.

    Russ

    p.s.: There may be something ominous here, because Win8-1 is mine and the Pro is hers, and has a distinctly feminine name. Nah; I won't go there.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2013
  2. Klownicle

    Klownicle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Is the user granted remote access rights in compmgmt.msc Local Users and Groups?
     
  3. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    Klownicle --

    If I understand it correctly, the answer is "Yes." The login user is listed in Remote Desktop Users under Groups and also under Users.

    I downloaded some Windows updates along the way, but don't know that any of them changed this. The puzzle is that is was working this morning, but now now.

    Thanks,
    Russ
     
  4. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Russ, have you tried rebooting the Pro?
     
  5. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    JP --

    Yeah, I rebooted both machines a couple of times. Also tried creating a new user on the Pro and authorizing it in Users and Groups. No success.

    It's a mystery.

    Thanks,
    Russ
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Microsoft Account or Local Account?
     
  7. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    Jeff --

    The question assumes an understanding that is outside my experiential envelope.

    The normal login to the Pro is "name@emailaddress," which is a Microsoft account. That is what I was using this morning, and it was working. Then it stopped working.

    On the Pro, I tried creating new users, both by Microsoft account ID (me and her) and by individual names. Nothing, so far, has worked.

    I am beginning to feel like the Incompetent Faith Healer who laid his hands on a crippled man -- and made him blind.

    Thanks,
    Russ
     
  8. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Are both machines trusted in your Microsoft Account? And I'm assuming you've logged into both with the Microsoft Account...
     
  9. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    Jeff --

    There are two Microsoft accounts: mine and hers. Both machines are now "Trusted PCs" in both accounts. Still can't connect with RDP.

    Thanks,
    Russ
     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Try clearing the check box for using Network Level Authentication under remote access control panel and see if it accepts the RDP connection.
     
  11. R0bR

    R0bR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Russ, with your RDP woes you've been having I wish I was travelling to our Atlanta facility so that I could get some hands on to fix them for you. Are you at least getting asked for authentication? Or are you being denied access altogether?
     
  12. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    Jeff --

    That box was already cleared.

    Thanks,
    Russ
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
.rdp on surface pro
,

microsoft surface pro rdp

,
not autorised for remote login surface rt
,
not granted compmgmt.msc
,

rdp on surface pro

,
rdp the connection was denied because the user account is not authorized for remote login
,

the connection was denied because the user account is not authorized for remote login

,
the connection was denied because the user account is not authorized for remote login new users
,
users in compmgmt.msc win8
,
windows 8 the connection was denied because the user account is not authorized for remote login