Solved Something strange

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by dniezby, Sep 9, 2014.

  1. dniezby

    dniezby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Okay, I don't know if it was the update or I screwed something up. Maybe someone could help me?

    Two strange things are now happening. They're not really strange but I got used to the old method and it's throwing off my game.

    1 - When I hit the up VOLUME button, now it suddenly turns on the Narrator instead of turning up the volume.

    2 - When I hit the down - It takes a snapshot.

    WTF? It's like my Windows button is stuck.

    Finally, (or maybe so far) when I hit the sleep button, it brings up a menu - like the one I would get with CTRL+Alt+Del

    Anyone know what happened here and how I can fix it? Cause, NOW when I Hold down windows and hit the volume button, it turns down/up the volume and it goes to lock.. LOL.

    I suppose I could get used to it that way, it just seems strange.
     
  2. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Is your keyboard attached when all this is happening? Maybe you have a stuck key? Cuz that doesn't sound good, also try doing a reset...
     
  3. dniezby

    dniezby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I did a Refresh and everything is working correctly again. WOW ! That is a feature I so wish I had years ago.

    I love that it even logs programs that would need to be installed if you want to keep them.

    Volume button - working as it's supposed to.
    Sleep button - working as it's supposed to.


    So, it must have been a program I installed that caused the problem.

    For anyone's reference, the program I installed was PDF X-Change viewer. I've used it for years but that was the last program I installed before I started having problems.
     
  4. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    great, glad it worked out!
     
  5. dniezby

    dniezby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes, thank you. It's working fine again. That's a great feature.

    I'm always continuing to be amazed by some of the "hidden" gems of W8+. People really are missing out.
     
  6. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That kind of stuff would certain throw off my game plan while using my SP3.
     

Share This Page