SP screen way too big

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by Arizona Willie, Apr 23, 2015.

  1. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Lately my SP1 screen is 3 times the size it should be.

    When browsing I can drag the browser clear off the screen either right or left with either Firefox or IE.

    When I go into personalize and look at the resolution it says the adapter is Mobil PC adapter not the Intel 4000 which is what is actually installed.

    It used to say Intel 4000 but I cannot get it to say that anymore.

    It is set to 1920 X 1080 which it says is the recommended resolution.

    But where you pick your background etc. the picture of the background is wide.

    I tried setting it to a single color but that soon goes away ALL BY ITSELF and I'm back to a wide screen like the resolution is 5700 X 1080 instead of 1920 X 1080.

    The problem is ONLY with the width ... the height is fine.

    My desktop has dual monitors and I have the primary monitor extended to the secondary and when I take a screen shot it includes both monitors.

    I suspect it has something to do with synching and the SP is picking up the width of both monitors on the desktop but I don't know how to stop it.

    It says the resolution is correct but the actual desktop is way way too wide.

    Any suggestions / solutions to fix this?
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Assuming you have rebooted and done a two button shutdown.
    Use the Control Panel tool to reset the Display Subsystem. Oh wait, it doesn't exist. You have to use that other utility... REFRESH
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2015
  3. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Ain't no way in hell I'm doing a REFRESH.

    Did that once and lost everything. Had to completely re-install all my programs.
    Fortunately I have a daily backup made at 6 pm every night, but it was still a huge pain in the rear.
    Probably took me over a week to get everything back.

     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Uninstall the Video Driver from Device Manager and reboot and allow Windows to install the correct driver....
     
  5. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    That is one of the first things I tried.
    It said it was Intel HD 4000 in Device Manage although on the resolution screen it only will show Mobile PC Display.

    After removal it was still the same.

    Device Manager said Intel HD 4000 but resolution screen will only show Mobile PC Display.

    I just did it again this morning.
    I also told it to remove the software and THAT may have been a mistake.
    I < presumed > it would redownload any needed software as well as the driver.
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Did you adjust DPI scaling?
     
  7. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Not sure where to do that. In Windows 7 it was out in the open but in W8 and W10 it is either hidden or they call it something else or I haven't stumbled across it.

     
  8. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    There is a link on making fonts bigger or smaller from the Screen Resolution Settings or Control Panel
     
  9. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Yes, I've seen that but I didn't think that was the same as changing the DPI ... just makes the fonts bigger.

     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    That is DPI scaling....
     
  11. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    It was on 125% so I put it on 100% doesn't make any difference.
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    What was the last thing you installed before this started happening?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
icons way too large in the extended monitor surface pro 4
,
microsoft surface display is too large
,
suface pro 4 extended display settings screen too big
,

surface pro 3 extended screen icons too big

,
surface pro 3 screen resolution too big
,
surface pro 4 browser huge on extended monitor
,
surface pro 4 display too large on secondary monitor
,
surface pro 4 extended monitor display too big
,
surface pro display too big
,
surface screen extend is too big