SP3 as output for xbox360\ONE

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by azzraine, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. azzraine

    azzraine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any way this can be done guys? I can use my SP3 as a second monitor so there has to be a way to use as some kind of TV output

    Thanks
     
  2. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    no this cannot be done, you can only project the screen through xbox but not reversed
     
  3. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    SP3 does not have an innie , just an outie.
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,341
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Perhaps if you can find a Windows Media Client to install...
     
  5. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    OR turn the camera on and point it at the first monitor. I'd love for the SP3 to have an innie.
     
  6. surfdock

    surfdock Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    There are some options. You can use a generic video capture device like this:
    http://www.startech.com/AV/Converte...Capture-Device-1080p-HDMI-Component~USB2HDCAP
    To give the Surface an "innie" via USB.

    There are also some network software solutions to create a virtual screen capture on a host PC and a display on a remote target PC such as MaxiVista and ZoneOS ZoneScreen but these won't work with XBOX. The intent behind those tools is to take some throwaway laptop and use it as a second screen for your new laptop. I'm not sure how well these tools work in Windows 8.1 but you can give it a shot. There might be a way to do this with Microsoft RemoteFX too.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014
  7. Jamie Youngblood

    Jamie Youngblood Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Microsoft recently added an API in Win 8.1 for:
    • Miracast Receive – exposes a set of Wi-Fi direct APIs for Independent Hardware Vendor (IHV) drivers or OEM drivers to develop Windows 32-bit applications that run on all supported x86-based or x64-based versions of Windows 8.1, enabling the computer as a Miracast receiver.
    http://blogs.windows.com/bloggingwi...s-for-windows-8-1-and-windows-server-2012-r2/

    We just need Intel or someone to run with it to enable Miracast Receive on the SP3.

    Hopefully this is also part of an MS effort to get Miracast working on XB1 (as a receiver).
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

use surface as xbox one output