SP3 Automatic Time Update not working?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Michael Lovett, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. Michael Lovett

    Michael Lovett Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    This morning, my SP3 said it was 7:18PM, when in fact it was like 9:20am.

    I checked the settings, and "automatic time update" is enabled. I disabled and enabled it but the little rotating "busy glyph" never stopped spinning (I waited for several minutes) so I just updated the time manually.

    Anyone else having problems with automatic time?

    Michael
     
  2. gtext

    gtext Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Try one of the other time servers from the automatic time settings. Think it was time.windows.com that didn't work for some reason for me.
     
  3. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You Surface should keep fairly accurate time without checking a time server. That sounds as if your time zone may not be accurate or there is a problem with the time offset.
     
  4. foghat

    foghat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Same thing happened with my wife's surface yesterday. She had to do a hard reboot as it would not come out of connected standby.

    After the reboot, the time was off by a lot. Auto time was on, turning it off and then back on caused a never ending 'busy glyph'. I ended up just setting the time manually.
     
  5. adrians

    adrians Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    This was mentioned in some other threads, before. As gtext mentioned above (and as I did elsewhere) it's this default time server that seems to not keep time sometimes. Just switch to using another.
     
  6. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Sometime the time servers are down. No all of them but the one you have configured.
     
  7. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    A customer has a server that I don't think has ever failed to error on the time server but it is also pretty darned accurate on its own, so I/we don't worry about it.
     
  8. iThinkiCan

    iThinkiCan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I had the exact same error this morning. Here's how I fixed it.

    Control Panel > All Control Panel Items > Troubleshooting > All Categories

    Run as admin > System Maintenance

    This checks the clock but didn't find any issues. So I went over to Windows Update (desktop) and "Checked For Updates".

    That's when I got this error: Windows Update error 0x8024a000

    Clicked to "get help with error" > In help screen clicked "Run Troubleshooter for error 0x8024a000" which downloaded WindowsUpdateDiagnostic file, run and fixed!

    Detection Details attached
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
autodetecting time zone on surface pro 3
,

automatic time update not working

,
date time not getting automatically updated in surface pro
,
gm clock auto update not working
,
surface pro 3 not auto updating date and time
,

surface pro will not automatically update date and time

,
time and date not updating on surface pro 3
,
time and date on surface pro3 is not automatic update
,
update time zone is not working
,
winxp time server update not working