What's new

SP3 camera too blurry?

qwertyy

Am I the only one having this problem?
I am a student and I take pictures of the lecture notes to convert them into pdf. When I use my galaxy note 3, the image of the document is extremely clear. However, when I take the same picture with my SP3, it is extremely blurry.
Is this something that can be resolved?

ctitanic

Am I the only one having this problem?
I am a student and I take pictures of the lecture notes to convert them into pdf. When I use my galaxy note 3, the image of the document is extremely clear. However, when I take the same picture with my SP3, it is extremely blurry.
Is this something that can be resolved?
You are not alone. The sad reality is that the SP3 uses a fixed focus camera which is not ideal for scanning documents. My workaround is to scan using my Lumia 810 Windows Phone using a program that sends the scanned documents to Onedrive.

79jonesy

Yep I agree it's not great. It's a real shame you have to add to your workflow but I agree - using your phone is the way forward. I either use onenote on my iPhone and select the document option or add the photo to onedrive.

~X.T.~

Yup, fixed-focus camera. Microsoft engineers must have had a brain fart when they came to the camera.

On the other hand, any DIY-ers out there thinking of whipping up a clip-on corrective lens for the SP3? Shorten that ridiculous focal length a bit so that we can take snaps of close-up things?

I thought of doing something like that but am really too engrossed with schoolwork to work on it. Am not too sure where to start either...

Moonsurface

Super Moderator
Staff member
Yup, fixed-focus camera. Microsoft engineers must have had a brain fart when they came to the camera.

On the other hand, any DIY-ers out there thinking of whipping up a clip-on corrective lens for the SP3? Shorten that ridiculous focal length a bit so that we can take snaps of close-up things?