Solved SP3 Connects to Network, but can't access internet.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by remode, Feb 10, 2015.

  1. remode

    remode New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was browsing on the web yesterday when the internet stopped and I assumed it was my shitty router since it can do that at times. I checked today and it still can't open up a page or download updates.I also tested connecting to 3 different networks and the problem still persisted. I just want to make sure there's something I haven't considered or a possible fix before I have to send it back since it's under warranty.

    Any advice?
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Try pinging the following addresses 127.0.0.1.
    your default gateway address usually 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 depending on your router.
    Abc.com
    Open a command prompt and issue the following command
    Ping 127.0.0.1
    You should get 4 replies

    Then do: ipconfig /all
    Look for a li e that says Default Gateway, note the address and ping that address. (mine is 192.168.1.1)
    Ping 192.168.1.1
    You should get 4 replies

    Ping abc.com

    You should get 4 replies from 199.181.132.250

    let us know how that goes.
     
  3. remode

    remode New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Got all the replies for abc, 127, and the default gatweay. Decided to click on the internet right after and google managed to open (have that as homepage), however couldn't open a webpage after.
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Which browser are you using? try deleting offline content...
    What Antivirus and firewall are you running?

    Does your email work? can you send yourself a message?
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2015
  5. remode

    remode New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Wow I think it may have been a weird antivirus issue. I use avast but I tried clicking on it and it wouldn't open (even as administrator), however somehow my skype managed to go online. So I restarted it and somehow stuff is working now haha, I did get a new notification when I restarted about some firewall settings being changed on Avast. If you didn't suggest this I would have probably sent it back in, so thanks!
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,106
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Try running diagnostics and see if it can determine the issue..
     
  7. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You probably got an Avast update that hung and needed a restart to finish. .
     

Share This Page