SP3 i3 owners... Do you wish you would have upgraded?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by SRVwannab, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. SRVwannab

    SRVwannab Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    When I bought my SP3, I bought the least expensive configuration available. I have a Retina MBPro and was looking for an alternative to the MB Air I have been carrying around. In short, I couldn't be happer with my Surface in general, and in particular, the Pen! The ability to take notes (One Note- I Love it) in a way that actually works so closely like pen and paper has been huge.

    I also love the keyboard- although, oddly enough- I find myself using my SP3 with keyboard disconnected and with a mouse (I'm not huge on the whole "touch" thing) more and more.

    My i3 has done everything I have asked of it. Have any of you i3 owners found it lacking for what you need? Thanks!
     
    Gerke likes this.
  2. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That's great to hear. I can see a lot of the low end ones being purchased for students of all ages. Heck my son has my 4 year old grand daughter using an ipad. I would love to get her and her 9 year old sister SP3s.
     
  3. Gerke

    Gerke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've absolutely no regrets. I have put in a Sandisk 128GB micro sdxc. The i3 is capable of everything, even Autocad is working smoothly. It performs better than my old Acer S3 with a second gen i7.
     
    BobM likes this.
  4. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Nope, does everything I need it to :)
     
  5. Mikewired

    Mikewired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I had a i7 256 and had too many issues with desktop program scaling for what this machine cost. I did like using it for casual browsing and note taking. I be watching for a deal on a sp3 i3. I will most likely get it without the type cover aka iPad style use.
     
  6. Donald King

    Donald King Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South FL
    I did not buy the i3 model, I bought the i7. But this thread makes me wonder if I should have bought the i3. I manage an IT department and most of my work is done over RDP, SSH, or in web browsers generating reporting, metrics, etc. I like my SP3, but I feel like I would have gotten better battery life and less heat output with the i3, and it would have still performed the same for what I use it for. The most intensive app I use locally is Minecraft, I do all my real computing on servers remotely. Live and learn I guess. Maybe it was the "IT guy zeal" that said I had to have the i7. I don't regret getting the i7, until I have to start looking for my charger :)
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    The i3 benchmarks at 80% of the i5 and the i5 benchmarks 90% of the i7 on the SP3's
     
    VickiFL likes this.
  8. mtalinm

    mtalinm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    yes I wish I would have sprung for the 512 disk on the i7 instead of the 256.

    I figured a thinner/lighter SP4 would be out in the spring, so I would upgrade before running out of disk space. now that i hear it'll be the same form factor, i wish I had sprung for the top of the line as there may not be any reason to do the SP3-->SP4 upgrade. in fact I worry they will make it slower.
     
  9. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    When I first read about the Sp3 and its various configurations, I was toying between the i5/ 8GB/ 265 GB and the i5/ 4GB/ 128GB versions. By the time I walked into the Store, I had pretty much decided on the latter version. The price difference between it and the model above it was significant (to me, that is) and I knew that I could ramp up the local storage by 128GB using a MicroSD and since I am always connected to the web either by WIFI and/ or by my phone's data connection, I would have access to my OneDrive (with all my files/ folders set up for offline access). The only sticking point was the RAM. But then I thought that since my current (and aging) desktop machine sports 4GB RAM and I have not really skipped a beat (no gaming or any other kind of RAM intensive work for me), the SP3 with 4GB RAM would suit my purposes. I should add that (and touch wood!) my device has been functioning very well. But sometimes I have also wondered whether I could have made do with the i3. Maybe I could have had since what I currently do with the i5, I could very well do with the i3. No regrets though.
     
  10. compnovo

    compnovo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Washington State
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    ^^^
    This is pretty much my story on all points.
     
  11. VickiFL

    VickiFL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Florida
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That's good to know, and makes me happy I saved money and went with the i3. No regrets yet.
     
  12. goodintentions

    goodintentions Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Anyone here ran visual studio 2013 with the i3?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface up a sp3 i3 at