What's new

SP3 power source

lepatron

Hi, I am new here and new to SP3 so please bear with me.

Does anyone think that if your using your SP3 there is any problem leaving it plugged in while your using it. I've used my laptop like this for years without ever a problem but I'm brand new to the surface world and thought I'd ask.

Thank You,

John

Theoriginalgiga

Whenever I'm near power I'm connected. I've left my tablet on power for over a week and no problems. I don't think there would be a problem. I'm sure the charger/charging system is smart and won't overcharge the battery.

leeshor

It isn't a matter of over charging, it's more an issue with the charging cycles. As the level goes down it kicks in again and again which isn't the best for longevity.

Theoriginalgiga

true, but wouldn't it make sense that MS would take the same forward steps on charging systems as everyone else has? most systems now charge till full then switch the system over to AC power and not running it through the battery and keeping the charging cycles down. As I don't know the exact internal workings and it doesn't seem like we have any official MS engineers who designed it I'm going to assume that's the case. has anyone mentioned degraded battery usage? it's a lithiam ion battery which have better charging and power monitoring for the batteries than the old nickel metal hydrate batteries.the average number of charge cycles for a li battery is 300-500 charge cycles, these cycles are calcuated at full charge to full discharge. So trickle charged to top up the battery from say 70% would cause a lot less charge loss than a full discharge.

leeshor